<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="https://www.jain.com/assets/img/6adafce5-1.1"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>gigawatt campus &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<atom:link href="/tag/gigawatt-campus/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link></link>
	<description>Data centers, connectivity, and security — news and analysis</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 27 Aug 2026 18:48:15 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-US</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>
	hourly	</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>
	1	</sy:updateFrequency>
	

<image>
	<url>/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/jain-com-icon-512-150x150.png</url>
	<title>gigawatt campus &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<link></link>
	<width>32</width>
	<height>32</height>
</image> 
	<item>
		<title>Kevin O&#8217;Leary&#8217;s 9GW Utah Data Center Campus Wins Approval</title>
		<link>/kevin-oleary-9gw-utah-ai-data-center-campus-approved/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Deepak Jain]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 26 Apr 2026 16:00:00 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[AI Infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AI data centers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AI infrastructure buildout]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[behind-the-meter power]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[data center power]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[gigawatt campus]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Kevin O'Leary]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Utah]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">/kevin-oleary-9gw-utah-ai-data-center-campus-approved/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Kevin O'Leary's 9-gigawatt AI data center campus in Utah has won approval — a single site sized to draw more than twice the power the entire state uses. We examine what approval actually covers, the self-generation model it implies, and the financing, customer, and grid questions the announcement leaves open.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="jain-post-grid">
<div class="jain-post-main">
<p>A 9-gigawatt AI data center campus backed by investor Kevin O&#8217;Leary has been approved in Utah, according to an April 26, 2026 report from Tom&#8217;s Hardware. The project is described as generating and consuming more than twice the amount of power the entire state of Utah currently uses — placing it among the largest data center developments ever announced anywhere in the world.</p>
<h2>Executive Summary</h2>
<p>The headline fact is the scale: 9 gigawatts is not a data center in any conventional sense — it is a power project with computing attached. For perspective, 9GW is roughly the output of nine large nuclear reactors, and the report frames it as more than double Utah&#8217;s entire statewide electricity draw. Notably, the report says the campus will <em>generate</em> as well as consume that power, which signals a behind-the-meter model: building dedicated generation on site rather than asking the regional grid to supply it.</p>
<p>The second fact is the word &#8220;approved.&#8221; Some jurisdictional body has said yes to something — but at headline level, the report does not specify which approval this is: land-use zoning, an air-quality permit, a generation license, or a state economic-development agreement. In mega-project development, each of those is a different gate, and clearing the first one is a long way from moving dirt. What is substantiated here is an approval milestone for an extraordinarily ambitious plan; what is not yet substantiated is financing, customers, a construction timeline, or the generation technology behind the 9GW figure.</p>
<h2>A Power Plant First, a Data Center Second</h2>
<p>The most telling detail in the report is that the campus will &#8220;generate and consume&#8221; its power. AI campuses at gigawatt scale have collided with a hard constraint across the United States: utility interconnection queues — the waiting lines to connect large new loads to the grid — now stretch years in many regions. Developers who cannot wait are going behind the meter, building their own gas turbines, and in some proposals nuclear or geothermal capacity, dedicated to the site. A 9GW self-generation plan sidesteps the queue but inherits a different set of problems: gas turbine order books are backed up years, fuel supply must be contracted at enormous volume, and on-site generation still typically requires air-quality permits and some grid tie for backup and startup power.</p>
<p>For lay readers, the practical meaning is this: the binding constraint on AI infrastructure has shifted from chips and buildings to electricity. Projects are now sized and sited around where power can be created, not where fiber or customers happen to be. Utah — with land, gas access, and a development-friendly posture — fits that new map.</p>
<h2>What &#8220;Approved&#8221; Does and Does Not Mean</h2>
<p>Approval is a genuine milestone; it is also the cheapest one. The industry has spent the past two years in an announcement race, with proposed multi-gigawatt campuses in the U.S., Canada, and the Gulf states collectively promising far more capacity than the supply chain — turbines, transformers, switchgear, chips, and skilled labor — can deliver on the advertised timelines. Analysts increasingly distinguish between announced gigawatts and energized gigawatts, and the gap between the two is wide. Kevin O&#8217;Leary himself previously announced a separate multi-gigawatt AI data center park in Alberta, Canada, which illustrates the pattern: high-profile backers can secure land and early approvals quickly, while the capital-intensive middle of the project — measured in tens of billions of dollars for a campus this size — takes years and committed tenants to close.</p>
<p>None of that makes the Utah project unserious. It makes it unproven, which is the honest status of nearly every gigawatt-class announcement at the approval stage. The credible test will be what follows: named anchor tenants, equipment orders, and financing commitments, not renderings.</p>
<h2>Winners, Losers, and the Utah Question</h2>
<p>If the campus advances, the near-term winners are clear: turbine and electrical-equipment manufacturers with the scarcest order slots, construction and trades labor in Utah, and the state&#8217;s tax base. Hyperscalers and AI labs hungry for capacity gain another potential supply option in a market where powered land is the scarcest commodity. The open question is who bears the risks. Behind-the-meter gas generation at this scale raises air-quality and emissions questions; data centers in the arid West raise water and cooling questions; and residents near any 9GW generation complex will have views on all of it. A project sized at more than twice the state&#8217;s current consumption will, fairly or not, become a referendum on how Utah wants to participate in the AI buildout — and community sentiment has already slowed or stopped large data center proposals in other states. Developers who engage those concerns early, with specific commitments on emissions, water, and grid impact, have fared better than those who lead with the gigawatt number.</p>
<h2>Background</h2>
<p>The AI boom has turned electricity into the data center industry&#8217;s scarcest input. Training and running large AI models requires dense clusters of power-hungry chips, and since 2023 developers have raced to secure &#8220;powered land&#8221; — sites where gigawatt-scale electricity can be delivered or built. With utility interconnection queues stretching years, a new class of power-first campuses has emerged that builds its own generation on site, and announced capacity across North America and the Gulf now far outstrips what has actually been energized.</p>
<p>Kevin O&#8217;Leary, the investor and Shark Tank personality behind O&#8217;Leary Ventures, entered this race with a previously announced multi-gigawatt AI data center park in Alberta, Canada. The Utah campus extends that playbook to the U.S. at even larger scale: at 9GW, the approved plan would exceed the entire current power draw of the state that will host it — a first even by the standards of this buildout.</p>
<p>Source: <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMimwFBVV95cUxPcXQzUmRzTXZFMno1aF9FMVVFNldTMGNYX3g1WmljeENfY1ctTHQxUFRuWWl2M3NNN0ZyUXZBZV91aUdYc1IwaUJWaWFWcmJPWVNlUDZ0Zm1vM0swbTcwSUlteGdac05iZE5iUms0T3V6ZUlqd3oyeGx4OGVGelY3Q0lONTlJOUdyd2x6U1dKWFItR3FvMkswQnRyWQ?oc=5">New AI data center in Utah will generate and consume more than twice the amount of power the entire state uses — Kevin O&#8217;Leary&#8217;s 9 Gigawatt Utah data center campus approved</a> — Tom&#8217;s Hardware report, April 26, 2026, on the approval of O&#8217;Leary&#8217;s 9GW self-generating AI campus in Utah.</p>
</div>
<aside class="jain-rail">
<section class="jain-gaps" aria-label="What the release does not say">
<p class="jain-gaps-kicker">⚠ What They Aren’t Saying</p>
<h2>What the Release Doesn&#8217;t Say</h2>
<p>The report, at headline level, leaves the most material questions open:</p>
<ul>
<li><strong>Which approval?</strong> Zoning, permitting, generation licensing, and incentive agreements are different gates — it is not stated which body approved what, or what remains.</li>
<li><strong>Generation technology and fuel:</strong> 9GW of self-generation implies gas turbines, nuclear, geothermal, renewables-plus-storage, or a mix — each with wildly different timelines, costs, and permitting paths. None is specified.</li>
<li><strong>Financing:</strong> A campus this size implies capital costs plausibly in the hundreds of billions of dollars fully built out. No investors, lenders, or funding commitments are identified.</li>
<li><strong>Customers:</strong> No anchor tenant — hyperscaler, AI lab, or GPU cloud — is named. Gigawatt campuses without committed tenants are options, not projects.</li>
<li><strong>Timeline and phasing:</strong> No construction start, first-power date, or phase plan is given. No announced project has energized anything close to 9GW; a multi-decade phased buildout is the realistic frame.</li>
<li><strong>Water, land, and grid interconnection:</strong> Cooling demand in an arid state, the site&#8217;s exact location and acreage, and any backup grid tie are all unaddressed.</li>
</ul>
</section>
<section class="jain-faq">
<h2>Frequently Asked Questions</h2>
<h3>What was announced about Kevin O&#x27;Leary&#x27;s Utah data center?</h3>
<p>According to an April 26, 2026 Tom&#8217;s Hardware report, a 9-gigawatt AI data center campus backed by Kevin O&#8217;Leary has been approved in Utah — a site that would generate and consume more than twice the electricity the entire state currently uses.</p>
<h3>How big is 9 gigawatts in practical terms?</h3>
<p>Enormous. 9GW is roughly the output of nine large nuclear reactors running flat out. Typical large data centers draw tens to a few hundred megawatts; 9,000 megawatts on one campus would rank among the largest power-consuming facilities ever built anywhere.</p>
<h3>Will the campus strain Utah&#x27;s power grid?</h3>
<p>Not directly, if the plan holds. The report says the campus will generate as well as consume its power, implying dedicated on-site generation (a behind-the-meter model) rather than drawing 9GW from the state grid — though backup grid ties, fuel supply, and emissions still affect the region.</p>
<h3>What does &#x27;approved&#x27; actually mean for a project like this?</h3>
<p>The report doesn&#8217;t specify. Mega-projects clear many separate gates — land-use zoning, air and water permits, generation licensing, incentive agreements. An early approval is a real milestone but far from a guarantee of construction, financing, or completion.</p>
<h3>Who is Kevin O&#x27;Leary and why is he building data centers?</h3>
<p>O&#8217;Leary is a Canadian investor and television personality best known from Shark Tank, investing through O&#8217;Leary Ventures. He previously announced a separate multi-gigawatt AI data center park in Alberta, Canada, positioning himself as a developer of power-first AI campuses.</p>
<h3>How will the campus generate its own power?</h3>
<p>The report doesn&#8217;t say. Self-generation at gigawatt scale usually means natural gas turbines, with nuclear, geothermal, or renewables-plus-storage as longer-term options. The choice matters enormously for cost, emissions, permitting, and how fast the site can energize.</p>
<h3>Why would a data center generate its own electricity instead of using the grid?</h3>
<p>Speed. Utility interconnection queues — the waiting lists to connect big new loads — can run years in much of the U.S. Building dedicated on-site generation sidesteps the queue, at the cost of buying turbines, contracting fuel, and clearing air-quality permits yourself.</p>
<h3>Why Utah?</h3>
<p>The report doesn&#8217;t state the reasons, but Utah offers what power-first campuses need: available land, access to natural gas, a relatively fast-moving permitting environment, and a state posture that has generally welcomed large industrial investment.</p>
<h3>What would a 9GW campus cost to build?</h3>
<p>No figure was announced. As a rough industry yardstick, gigawatt-class AI campuses are estimated in the tens of billions of dollars per gigawatt once generation, buildings, cooling, and chips are counted — implying a fully built 9GW campus plausibly in the hundreds of billions.</p>
<h3>Who are the customers for the campus?</h3>
<p>None were named in the report. That is the single biggest open question: gigawatt campuses are typically anchored by hyperscalers or AI labs signing long-term capacity commitments, and without a named tenant a project remains an option rather than a committed build.</p>
<h3>When will the Utah campus be operational?</h3>
<p>No timeline was given. Realistically, projects of this class energize in phases over many years; no data center campus anywhere has yet delivered anything close to 9GW, so a multi-year, likely multi-decade buildout is the sensible expectation.</p>
<h3>How does this compare to other giant AI data center projects?</h3>
<p>It sits at the extreme end of an announcement wave. Multi-gigawatt AI campuses have been proposed across the U.S., Canada, and the Gulf states, but announced capacity far exceeds what turbine, transformer, and chip supply chains can deliver soon. 9GW would top nearly all of them.</p>
<h3>What are the environmental concerns with a project this size?</h3>
<p>Unaddressed in the report. Gas-fired self-generation raises emissions and air-quality questions; data center cooling in the arid West raises water questions; and a generation complex exceeding the state&#8217;s entire current draw would face scrutiny on land use and local impact.</p>
<h3>What should investors and capacity buyers watch next?</h3>
<p>The follow-through signals: named anchor tenants, turbine and electrical-equipment orders, announced financing, the generation technology, and further permits. Those separate executable projects from ambitious announcements — and none of them appeared in this report.</p>
<h3>Does approval mean the project is fully permitted and financed?</h3>
<p>No. Approval of one stage — whichever stage this is — does not imply financing is closed, permits are complete, or construction is imminent. The report substantiates a milestone and a headline capacity figure, not a funded, tenanted, shovel-ready project.</p>
</section>
</aside>
</div>
<p><script type="application/ld+json">{"@context": "https://schema.org", "@graph": [{"@type": "NewsArticle", "headline": "Kevin O'Leary's 9GW Utah Data Center Campus Wins Approval", "description": "Kevin O'Leary's 9-gigawatt AI data center campus in Utah has won approval \u2014 a single site sized to draw more than twice the power the entire state uses. We examine what approval actually covers, the self-generation model it implies, and the financing, customer, and grid questions the announcement leaves open.", "image": ["/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/kevin-oleary-9gw-utah-ai-data-center-campus.png"], "author": {"@type": "Organization", "name": "jain.com Editorial"}, "datePublished": "2026-08-20T21:48:20.395630+00:00"}, {"@type": "FAQPage", "mainEntity": [{"@type": "Question", "name": "What was announced about Kevin O'Leary's Utah data center?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "According to an April 26, 2026 Tom's Hardware report, a 9-gigawatt AI data center campus backed by Kevin O'Leary has been approved in Utah \u2014 a site that would generate and consume more than twice the electricity the entire state currently uses."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How big is 9 gigawatts in practical terms?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Enormous. 9GW is roughly the output of nine large nuclear reactors running flat out. Typical large data centers draw tens to a few hundred megawatts; 9,000 megawatts on one campus would rank among the largest power-consuming facilities ever built anywhere."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Will the campus strain Utah's power grid?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Not directly, if the plan holds. The report says the campus will generate as well as consume its power, implying dedicated on-site generation (a behind-the-meter model) rather than drawing 9GW from the state grid \u2014 though backup grid ties, fuel supply, and emissions still affect the region."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What does 'approved' actually mean for a project like this?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The report doesn't specify. Mega-projects clear many separate gates \u2014 land-use zoning, air and water permits, generation licensing, incentive agreements. An early approval is a real milestone but far from a guarantee of construction, financing, or completion."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Who is Kevin O'Leary and why is he building data centers?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "O'Leary is a Canadian investor and television personality best known from Shark Tank, investing through O'Leary Ventures. He previously announced a separate multi-gigawatt AI data center park in Alberta, Canada, positioning himself as a developer of power-first AI campuses."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How will the campus generate its own power?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The report doesn't say. Self-generation at gigawatt scale usually means natural gas turbines, with nuclear, geothermal, or renewables-plus-storage as longer-term options. The choice matters enormously for cost, emissions, permitting, and how fast the site can energize."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why would a data center generate its own electricity instead of using the grid?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Speed. Utility interconnection queues \u2014 the waiting lists to connect big new loads \u2014 can run years in much of the U.S. Building dedicated on-site generation sidesteps the queue, at the cost of buying turbines, contracting fuel, and clearing air-quality permits yourself."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why Utah?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The report doesn't state the reasons, but Utah offers what power-first campuses need: available land, access to natural gas, a relatively fast-moving permitting environment, and a state posture that has generally welcomed large industrial investment."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What would a 9GW campus cost to build?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "No figure was announced. As a rough industry yardstick, gigawatt-class AI campuses are estimated in the tens of billions of dollars per gigawatt once generation, buildings, cooling, and chips are counted \u2014 implying a fully built 9GW campus plausibly in the hundreds of billions."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Who are the customers for the campus?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "None were named in the report. That is the single biggest open question: gigawatt campuses are typically anchored by hyperscalers or AI labs signing long-term capacity commitments, and without a named tenant a project remains an option rather than a committed build."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "When will the Utah campus be operational?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "No timeline was given. Realistically, projects of this class energize in phases over many years; no data center campus anywhere has yet delivered anything close to 9GW, so a multi-year, likely multi-decade buildout is the sensible expectation."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How does this compare to other giant AI data center projects?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It sits at the extreme end of an announcement wave. Multi-gigawatt AI campuses have been proposed across the U.S., Canada, and the Gulf states, but announced capacity far exceeds what turbine, transformer, and chip supply chains can deliver soon. 9GW would top nearly all of them."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What are the environmental concerns with a project this size?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Unaddressed in the report. Gas-fired self-generation raises emissions and air-quality questions; data center cooling in the arid West raises water questions; and a generation complex exceeding the state's entire current draw would face scrutiny on land use and local impact."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What should investors and capacity buyers watch next?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The follow-through signals: named anchor tenants, turbine and electrical-equipment orders, announced financing, the generation technology, and further permits. Those separate executable projects from ambitious announcements \u2014 and none of them appeared in this report."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Does approval mean the project is fully permitted and financed?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "No. Approval of one stage \u2014 whichever stage this is \u2014 does not imply financing is closed, permits are complete, or construction is imminent. The report substantiates a milestone and a headline capacity figure, not a funded, tenanted, shovel-ready project."}}]}]}</script></p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
