<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="https://www.jain.com/assets/img/6adafce5-1.1"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>SB Energy &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<atom:link href="/tag/sb-energy/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link></link>
	<description>Data centers, connectivity, and security — news and analysis</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 26 Sep 2026 15:09:45 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-US</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>
	hourly	</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>
	1	</sy:updateFrequency>
	

<image>
	<url>/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/jain-com-icon-512-150x150.png</url>
	<title>SB Energy &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<link></link>
	<width>32</width>
	<height>32</height>
</image> 
	<item>
		<title>OpenAI&#8217;s 8 GW Ohio Campus: Legacy Grid Covers 800 MW, New Power Plants Gate the Rest</title>
		<link>/openai-ports-pike-ohio-8-gigawatt-data-center-sb-energy-nvidia/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Deepak Jain]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 18 Aug 2026 16:00:00 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[AI Infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AI data centers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Department of Energy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[natural gas]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Nvidia]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ohio]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[OpenAI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Power Infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SB Energy]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">/openai-ports-pike-ohio-8-gigawatt-data-center-sb-energy-nvidia/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[OpenAI has agreed to take about 8 gigawatts of AI data center capacity at the PORTS-Pike campus in Pike County, Ohio, with SB Energy, NVIDIA and the DOE. Only the first 800 MW, due in 2028, uses largely existing AEP grid infrastructure; the rest needs new power plants, including gas, and new transmission.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="jain-post-grid">
<div class="jain-post-main">
<section class="jain-tldr" aria-label="Plain-English summary">
<p class="jain-tldr-kicker">TL;DR · 30-second read</p>
<h2>The Short Version</h2>
<ul>
<li>OpenAI, the maker of ChatGPT, will rent space in a huge computer campus planned on the grounds of an old Cold War uranium plant in rural southern Ohio.</li>
<li>At full size, the campus would use about as much electricity as eight large nuclear reactors produce.</li>
<li>Only about a tenth of that can come from today&#8217;s power lines, starting in 2028. The rest needs new power plants, including gas-fired ones, that have not been built yet.</li>
<li>The developer promises to pay for the grid upgrades itself, so local electric bills do not cover them.</li>
</ul>
</section>
<p>OpenAI announced on August 17 that it has agreed to secure approximately 8 gigawatts of IT capacity at the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio, working with developer SB Energy, NVIDIA and the U.S. Department of Energy. The campus is being developed on private land and on remediated federal land at the former Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant. SB Energy will build, own and operate the data center under a 20-year lease to OpenAI, and the site will exclusively host NVIDIA AI computing hardware.</p>
<p>The first 800 megawatts are expected to be available in 2028, largely using existing AEP infrastructure. Later phases will require new grid-connected power plants, including natural gas generation, plus new transmission lines. NVIDIA will invest $1.5 billion in SB Energy and provide credit support for the land, power and shell buildout of the initial 4.25 gigawatts. The companies project 35,000 construction jobs over a six-year buildout through 2032 and 2,500 long-term operating jobs.</p>
<h2>Executive Summary</h2>
<p>The PORTS-Pike agreement is one of the largest single-site AI capacity commitments announced to date: roughly 8 gigawatts of power delivered to computing equipment, on a former uranium enrichment site in southern Ohio. OpenAI is the tenant, SB Energy is the developer and owner, NVIDIA is both the exclusive hardware supplier and a financial backer, and the Department of Energy is contributing federal land and an existing onsite water system.</p>
<p>The more telling number is the smaller one. Only the first 800 megawatts, about a tenth of the headline figure, is expected to come online in 2028 on largely existing grid infrastructure. Everything after that depends on new power plants and new transmission lines, along with permits, environmental reviews and financing that the companies say must still be in place. In practice, this is a power-development project with a data center attached, and its pace will be set by generation and wires rather than by chips.</p>
<p>The package also includes a pledge that SB Energy will pay the full cost of grid upgrades and new transmission rather than passing them to Ohio ratepayers, a closed-loop cooling design meant to limit ongoing water use, and more than $160 million in community grants and student software credits.</p>
<h2>Nine-Tenths of the Campus Waits on Power That Does Not Yet Exist</h2>
<p>The headline figure is 8 gigawatts-IT, a measure of the electricity delivered to servers and networking gear rather than the site&#8217;s total draw, which is higher once cooling and power conversion are counted. Against that, the companies say the first 800 megawatts should be available in 2028 &#8220;largely using existing AEP infrastructure,&#8221; meaning the transmission and substation capacity American Electric Power already has in the area. That is roughly 10% of the campus. The remaining 7 gigawatts or so, per OpenAI&#8217;s announcement, &#8220;will require new power plants connected to the grid, including natural gas generation, as well as new transmission lines and associated infrastructure.&#8221;</p>
<p>That split is the operational core of the deal. Existing wires are the fastest path to power for any large data center, because new generation and new high-voltage lines each require siting, permitting, interconnection studies and equipment procurement before a single rack can be energised. Gas turbines, transformers and high-voltage switchgear have all been in heavy demand as utilities and data center developers compete for the same supply chains. The six-year buildout window through 2032 signals that the companies expect most of the capacity to arrive only as that new infrastructure is completed.</p>
<p>The parties most exposed to this sequencing are OpenAI, whose compute roadmap depends on the later phases; SB Energy, which carries the development risk; AEP and PJM, the regional grid operator covering Ohio, which must study and integrate the new plants and lines; and NVIDIA, whose hardware sales at the site scale with each tranche of power that comes online.</p>
<h2>Why a Former Uranium Plant Works as a Power-First AI Site</h2>
<p>The Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant was built in the 1950s to enrich uranium, a process that consumed enormous amounts of electricity. That history left the area with heavy grid infrastructure, a large industrial footprint and federal land that has been under cleanup for years. For an AI campus, those legacy assets matter more than proximity to cities or fiber hubs: they are what allows the first 800 megawatts to arrive in 2028 instead of later.</p>
<p>The Department of Energy&#8217;s role extends beyond land. PORTS-Pike is working with DOE to use the site&#8217;s existing onsite water system, and the data center will use closed-loop, air-cooled systems that recirculate water rather than evaporative cooling towers, which continuously consume water. OpenAI says ongoing water use, once the system is filled, should be comparable to an office building supporting a similar number of people, and well below what the enrichment plant historically used. It has committed to publish expected water use once the design is final.</p>
<p>The model is replicable only where similar conditions exist: large parcels of already-disturbed land, legacy high-voltage infrastructure, and a federal owner willing to redevelop. Retired industrial and federal sites with those traits are a finite set, which is why they are becoming contested real estate for AI developers.</p>
<h2>Who Carries the Financial Risk</h2>
<p>The deal is structured to keep capital off OpenAI&#8217;s balance sheet up front. SB Energy builds and owns the facility, and OpenAI begins paying only as completed capacity becomes available for lease, funding those payments from revenue, cash flow and investor capital. That protects OpenAI from paying for capacity that is delayed, but it shifts construction and power-development risk to SB Energy and its financiers.</p>
<p>NVIDIA fills part of that gap. Its $1.5 billion investment in SB Energy and its credit support, a guarantee-like backing that lowers borrowing costs, cover land, power and shell buildout for the initial 4.25 gigawatts. Because the site will exclusively host NVIDIA hardware, the chipmaker is effectively helping finance demand for its own products. That aligns incentives among the three companies, but it also concentrates exposure: the project&#8217;s financing, customer and supplier are tightly linked, and the backing described covers just over half of the 8 gigawatts.</p>
<h2>The Ratepayer Pledge Addresses the Biggest Local Objection</h2>
<p>Data center growth has become a flashpoint over whether households end up paying for grid expansion that serves large corporate loads. SB Energy&#8217;s commitment to pay the full cost of grid upgrades and new transmission lines, without shifting those costs to Ohio ratepayers, speaks directly to that concern, and the companies argue the new lines will also strengthen regional reliability.</p>
<p>The community package, which includes $40 million from OpenAI on top of SB Energy&#8217;s earlier $40 million and $84 million in Codex credits for about 844,000 Ohio students, adds up to more than $160 million by OpenAI&#8217;s count. Alongside a union memorandum of understanding and annual public reporting on hiring, water and energy use, it is designed to build local consent for a project whose largest phases will require new permits and reviews over the coming years.</p>
<h2>Background</h2>
<p>The Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant near Piketon, Ohio, was built in the 1950s to enrich uranium for national defense and later for nuclear power fuel. Gaseous diffusion was extremely electricity-intensive, which left the region with substantial grid infrastructure. Enrichment ended in the early 2000s, and the Department of Energy has since overseen decontamination and cleanup, with parts of the site now available for redevelopment.</p>
<p>SB Energy, a SoftBank-backed energy and infrastructure developer, is leading development of the PORTS-Pike campus. OpenAI has been expanding its computing capacity through long-term agreements with developers and hardware partners to support training of frontier AI models and growing demand for products such as ChatGPT and Codex.</p>
<section class="jain-sources" aria-label="Sources">
<h2>Sources</h2>
<p>Source: <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMiaEFVX3lxTE9lSDRzTDRmOXVNbmJMNmR5UUVvT1ozbmsweTU4aG9Da1RSc29vbHY5M05SblZFODNDeHFCYjJoMkJpUllJQk5oQmw3MU5LbnNqMjh3MkRqelMyQl9zRHBHSi14S1BxTkQ4?oc=5">OpenAI joins PORTS-Pike project</a>, OpenAI&#8217;s announcement of an approximately 8 gigawatt capacity agreement with SB Energy, NVIDIA and the U.S. Department of Energy in Pike County, Ohio.</p>
</section>
</div>
<aside class="jain-rail">
<section class="jain-gaps" aria-label="What the release does not say">
<p class="jain-gaps-kicker">⚠ What They Aren’t Saying</p>
<h2>What the Release Doesn&#8217;t Say</h2>
<ul>
<li><strong>New generation:</strong> OpenAI and SB Energy have not said how much new generating capacity is planned, who will own and finance the new gas plants, where they will be sited, or whether the ratepayer pledge, which explicitly covers grid upgrades and transmission, also covers the cost of new power plants.</li>
<li><strong>Phasing and units:</strong> The companies have given a date only for the first 800 megawatts. They have not published a phase-by-phase schedule to 2032, nor clarified whether the 800 megawatts is measured as IT load like the 8 gigawatt headline or as total site power.</li>
<li><strong>Financing beyond the first half:</strong> NVIDIA&#8217;s credit support covers the initial 4.25 gigawatts. SB Energy has not disclosed how the remaining capacity will be financed, and OpenAI has not disclosed the value of its 20-year lease commitment.</li>
<li><strong>Permits and federal terms:</strong> The companies have not detailed the status of required permits and environmental reviews, or the terms under which DOE land and water systems will be used.</li>
</ul>
</section>
<section class="jain-faq">
<h2>Frequently Asked Questions</h2>
<h3>What did OpenAI announce about the PORTS-Pike project?</h3>
<p>OpenAI said on August 17 that it agreed to secure about 8 gigawatts of IT capacity at the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio, working with SB Energy, NVIDIA and the U.S. Department of Energy, under a 20-year lease.</p>
<h3>Where is the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus?</h3>
<p>It is in Pike County in southern Ohio, on a mix of private land and remediated federal land at the former Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant, a Cold War-era uranium enrichment facility owned by the Department of Energy.</p>
<h3>What does 8 gigawatts-IT mean?</h3>
<p>It measures electricity delivered to the computing equipment itself: servers, accelerators and networking. The total power a site draws from the grid is higher, because cooling, power conversion and other building systems also consume electricity.</p>
<h3>When will the first capacity be available?</h3>
<p>The first 800 megawatts are expected to become available in 2028, largely using existing American Electric Power infrastructure. The full buildout is planned over six years through 2032, delivered in stages rather than all at once.</p>
<h3>Where will power for the later phases come from?</h3>
<p>According to OpenAI, further development will require new power plants connected to the grid, including natural gas generation, plus new transmission lines and associated infrastructure. Specific plants, sizes and owners have not been announced.</p>
<h3>Who will build and own the data center?</h3>
<p>SB Energy will build, own and operate the data center and lease capacity to OpenAI over 20 years. OpenAI will be the customer and will pay only as completed capacity becomes available for lease.</p>
<h3>What is NVIDIA&#x27;s role in the project?</h3>
<p>The site will exclusively host NVIDIA AI computing hardware. NVIDIA will also invest $1.5 billion in SB Energy and provide credit support for land, power and shell buildout of the initial 4.25 gigawatts, and will co-publish a technical white paper with OpenAI.</p>
<h3>Will Ohio electricity customers pay for the grid upgrades?</h3>
<p>SB Energy has committed to pay the full cost of the grid upgrades and new transmission lines needed to serve the data center, and says those costs will not be shifted to Ohio or other ratepayers in the region.</p>
<h3>How much water will the data center use?</h3>
<p>It will use closed-loop, air-cooled systems that recirculate water. OpenAI says ongoing use should be comparable to an office building supporting a similar number of people, and it will publish expected water use once the site design is finalized.</p>
<h3>How many jobs is the project expected to create?</h3>
<p>The companies project 35,000 construction jobs during the six-year buildout through 2032 and 2,500 long-term operating jobs. PORTS-Pike Campus signed a memorandum of understanding with North America&#8217;s Building Trades Unions.</p>
<h3>What community investments were announced?</h3>
<p>OpenAI will put $40 million into a community grant fund shaped by residents&#8217; priorities, adding to SB Energy&#8217;s earlier $40 million commitment. With $84 million in student software credits, OpenAI puts the total at more than $160 million.</p>
<h3>What are the Codex credits for Ohio students?</h3>
<p>OpenAI will make up to $84 million in Codex credits available to about 844,000 eligible Ohio college, community college and technical school students aged 18 and older, at $100 each, during the 2026 to 2027 academic year.</p>
<h3>What could delay the PORTS-Pike buildout?</h3>
<p>The companies say development depends on infrastructure, permits, environmental reviews and financing being in place. The largest risk is timing of new power plants and transmission lines, which later phases require.</p>
<h3>Why are old federal and industrial sites attractive for AI data centers?</h3>
<p>Sites like Portsmouth often have legacy high-voltage grid connections, large parcels of already-developed land and existing water systems. Those assets can shorten the time to first power, which is now a key constraint for large AI campuses.</p>
<h3>What does this deal signal for data center developers and investors?</h3>
<p>It shows that at multi-gigawatt scale, power generation and transmission set the schedule. Developers with existing grid access can deliver first phases sooner, while later phases depend on new plants, financing and permits.</p>
</section>
</aside>
</div>
<p><script type="application/ld+json">{"@context": "https://schema.org", "@graph": [{"@type": "NewsArticle", "headline": "OpenAI's 8 GW Ohio Campus: Legacy Grid Covers 800 MW, New Power Plants Gate the Rest", "description": "OpenAI has agreed to take about 8 gigawatts of AI data center capacity at the PORTS-Pike campus in Pike County, Ohio, with SB Energy, NVIDIA and the DOE. Only the first 800 MW, due in 2028, uses largely existing AEP grid infrastructure; the rest needs new power plants, including gas, and new transmission.", "image": ["/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/openai-ports-pike-ohio-8-gigawatt-ai-data-center.webp"], "author": {"@type": "Organization", "name": "jain.com Editorial"}, "datePublished": "2026-09-26T15:09:42.161963+00:00"}, {"@type": "FAQPage", "mainEntity": [{"@type": "Question", "name": "What did OpenAI announce about the PORTS-Pike project?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "OpenAI said on August 17 that it agreed to secure about 8 gigawatts of IT capacity at the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio, working with SB Energy, NVIDIA and the U.S. Department of Energy, under a 20-year lease."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Where is the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It is in Pike County in southern Ohio, on a mix of private land and remediated federal land at the former Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant, a Cold War-era uranium enrichment facility owned by the Department of Energy."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What does 8 gigawatts-IT mean?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It measures electricity delivered to the computing equipment itself: servers, accelerators and networking. The total power a site draws from the grid is higher, because cooling, power conversion and other building systems also consume electricity."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "When will the first capacity be available?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The first 800 megawatts are expected to become available in 2028, largely using existing American Electric Power infrastructure. The full buildout is planned over six years through 2032, delivered in stages rather than all at once."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Where will power for the later phases come from?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "According to OpenAI, further development will require new power plants connected to the grid, including natural gas generation, plus new transmission lines and associated infrastructure. Specific plants, sizes and owners have not been announced."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Who will build and own the data center?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "SB Energy will build, own and operate the data center and lease capacity to OpenAI over 20 years. OpenAI will be the customer and will pay only as completed capacity becomes available for lease."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is NVIDIA's role in the project?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The site will exclusively host NVIDIA AI computing hardware. NVIDIA will also invest $1.5 billion in SB Energy and provide credit support for land, power and shell buildout of the initial 4.25 gigawatts, and will co-publish a technical white paper with OpenAI."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Will Ohio electricity customers pay for the grid upgrades?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "SB Energy has committed to pay the full cost of the grid upgrades and new transmission lines needed to serve the data center, and says those costs will not be shifted to Ohio or other ratepayers in the region."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How much water will the data center use?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It will use closed-loop, air-cooled systems that recirculate water. OpenAI says ongoing use should be comparable to an office building supporting a similar number of people, and it will publish expected water use once the site design is finalized."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How many jobs is the project expected to create?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The companies project 35,000 construction jobs during the six-year buildout through 2032 and 2,500 long-term operating jobs. PORTS-Pike Campus signed a memorandum of understanding with North America's Building Trades Unions."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What community investments were announced?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "OpenAI will put $40 million into a community grant fund shaped by residents' priorities, adding to SB Energy's earlier $40 million commitment. With $84 million in student software credits, OpenAI puts the total at more than $160 million."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What are the Codex credits for Ohio students?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "OpenAI will make up to $84 million in Codex credits available to about 844,000 eligible Ohio college, community college and technical school students aged 18 and older, at $100 each, during the 2026 to 2027 academic year."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What could delay the PORTS-Pike buildout?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The companies say development depends on infrastructure, permits, environmental reviews and financing being in place. The largest risk is timing of new power plants and transmission lines, which later phases require."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why are old federal and industrial sites attractive for AI data centers?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Sites like Portsmouth often have legacy high-voltage grid connections, large parcels of already-developed land and existing water systems. Those assets can shorten the time to first power, which is now a key constraint for large AI campuses."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What does this deal signal for data center developers and investors?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It shows that at multi-gigawatt scale, power generation and transmission set the schedule. Developers with existing grid access can deliver first phases sooner, while later phases depend on new plants, financing and permits."}}]}]}</script></p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
		<item>
		<title>Nvidia&#8217;s 4.25-GW Ohio Guarantee Puts Chipmaker Credit Behind AI Land and Power</title>
		<link>/nvidia-sb-energy-ports-pike-ohio-credit-support-openai-8-gw-ai-campus/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Deepak Jain]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 17 Aug 2026 16:00:00 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[AI Infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AI data centers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Data Center Financing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Nvidia]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ohio]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[OpenAI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Power Infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SB Energy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SoftBank]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">/nvidia-sb-energy-ports-pike-ohio-credit-support-openai-8-gw-ai-campus/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Nvidia will provide credit support for SB Energy's PORTS-Pike AI campus in Ohio, with OpenAI leasing 8 IT-GW for 20 years. The chipmaker's balance sheet now backs the land, power and buildings, and in return Nvidia gets exclusive rights to supply all of the AI compute on the site.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="jain-post-grid">
<div class="jain-post-main">
<section class="jain-tldr" aria-label="Plain-English summary">
<p class="jain-tldr-kicker">TL;DR · 30-second read</p>
<h2>The Short Version</h2>
<p>Nvidia, the company whose chips run most of today&#8217;s artificial intelligence, has agreed to financially vouch for the land, power and buildings of a huge computing campus in southern Ohio. The campus is on the site of a closed Cold War uranium plant.</p>
<p>In return, only Nvidia&#8217;s equipment can go inside. OpenAI, the maker of ChatGPT, has signed a 20-year lease to use it.</p>
<p>At full size, the computers would use roughly the output of eight large nuclear reactors. The first sections are due in 2028. The unusual part is the financing: a chip seller is helping pay for the buildings its chips will sit in.</p>
</section>
<p>Nvidia announced on August 17, 2026 that it will provide credit support for the land, power and shell buildout at SB Energy&#8217;s PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio. In this context, credit support means Nvidia&#8217;s financial backing stands behind the project&#8217;s obligations. The support secures an initial 4.25 gigawatts of IT capacity, meaning power delivered to computing equipment, and Nvidia holds an option on the remaining 3.75 IT-GW. In exchange, Nvidia will be the exclusive AI compute provider on the site. OpenAI will be the customer for the full 8 IT-GW. SB Energy will build, own and operate the data center under a 20-year lease to OpenAI.</p>
<p>Nvidia will also invest $1.5 billion in SB Energy, joining existing investors SoftBank Group and OpenAI. SB Energy and SoftBank committed to build at least 10 gigawatts of new generation and to invest at least $4.2 billion in regional grid infrastructure with AEP Ohio. Capacity is expected to come online in phases beginning in 2028.</p>
<h2>Executive Summary</h2>
<p>The headline numbers are 8 gigawatts of AI capacity, a 20-year lease and a $1.5 billion equity check. The structural news is who is standing behind the real estate. Data center developers typically finance land, power hookups and building shells against the creditworthiness of the tenant. At PORTS-Pike, Nvidia is supplying credit support for the first 4.25 IT-GW. That makes the chipmaker a financial backer of the physical site as well as the vendor of the hardware inside it.</p>
<p>What Nvidia gets in return is explicit: exclusivity. Every AI system on the campus will be Nvidia&#8217;s, deployed on its DSX AI factory platform of GPUs, CPUs and networking. Jensen Huang framed it as securing “long-lived infrastructure for NVIDIA compute” that can be upgraded with each new chip generation. That implies a site designed to take several future Nvidia generations over the life of the lease.</p>
<p>The deal matters beyond Ohio for a simple reason. If a chip supplier&#8217;s balance sheet can make a gigawatt-scale site financeable, then access to land, power and shells becomes something hardware vendors compete for directly, not just something their customers arrange.</p>
<h2>Why a Chipmaker Is Backing Buildings</h2>
<p>A data center campus has three expensive layers that come before any chip is installed: land, power (generation, substations and grid connections) and the shell, meaning the building, cooling plant and electrical rooms. The industry abbreviates these as LPS. Whoever finances that layer wants confidence that someone creditworthy will keep paying for the space for the life of the investment. At PORTS-Pike, SB Energy owns the asset and OpenAI is the 20-year tenant. Nvidia is adding a third layer of assurance: credit support on the LPS buildout covering the first 4.25 IT-GW.</p>
<p>That is the mechanism behind the headline. Nvidia is using its own credit to reduce the financing risk of a site it does not own. In return, it gets a guaranteed home for its hardware at a scale of more than four gigawatts, with an option on 3.75 more. Nvidia&#8217;s statement makes the logic explicit: “land, power and shell have become vital in the age of AI.” A supplier that is worried about customers finding buildings and electricity for its systems fast enough is now helping underwrite the buildings and electricity itself.</p>
<p>Several groups are affected. Developers gain a new kind of counterparty whose backing may unlock project finance. Lenders get another large name standing behind the obligations. Competing accelerator vendors face a campus that is closed to them by contract. For OpenAI, the arrangement ties a very large block of future capacity to a single supplier&#8217;s roadmap. This is one deal, not yet a market pattern. It does show that chipmaker credit can serve as a financing input for AI sites, and other developers will take note.</p>
<h2>Exclusivity, Upgrades and Concentration</h2>
<p>The exclusivity clause is the price of the guarantee, and it cuts both ways. Nvidia describes the site as upgradeable “with each new generation delivering more intelligence and better economics.” A 20-year lease spans many hardware cycles, so the value to Nvidia is not a single sale. It is a standing claim on refresh after refresh. For OpenAI, a site built around one vendor&#8217;s full stack can simplify design and speed deployment. It also narrows negotiating leverage over future generations at this location.</p>
<p>A fair question is how tightly interlinked the parties now are. SoftBank Group and OpenAI were already investors in SB Energy. Nvidia is now investing $1.5 billion and backing the site&#8217;s buildout. OpenAI is the tenant and will run Nvidia hardware. Arrangements like this are not unusual in early infrastructure markets, and nothing in the announcement suggests anything improper. Still, it means the campus&#8217;s economics rest on a small group of counterparties whose fortunes are correlated with continued AI demand. The announcement asserts that demand is “growing at an extraordinary pace.” Investors will want to see it in contracted revenue as phases come online.</p>
<h2>Power-First, With Overhead Built In</h2>
<p>SB Energy and SoftBank committed to at least 10 gigawatts of new generation to support 8 IT-GW of AI capacity. The gap between those numbers is instructive. Roughly a fifth of the generation is not delivered to computing equipment. It covers cooling, power conversion and other facility overhead, plus any margin the developers are holding. That is a useful reminder that AI capacity figures quoted in IT-GW understate the electricity a campus actually requires.</p>
<p>The grid commitment is at least $4.2 billion in regional infrastructure through a partnership with AEP Ohio that the companies say is “designed to protect ratepayers.” The release does not explain how that protection works: who pays for which upgrades, and what happens to those costs if demand falls short. Those questions matter to Ohio households as much as to investors. Reusing the decommissioned Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant site, with the Department of Energy and Department of Commerce involved, may offer existing industrial land and transmission advantages. Spanning federal and private land also adds approval steps that the companies have not detailed.</p>
<h2>Background</h2>
<p>SB Energy describes itself as an integrated data center and power infrastructure company that develops, builds and operates gigawatt-scale data center campuses and utility-scale power generation. Its investors before this deal included SoftBank Group and OpenAI. Its pitch is a “power-first” model: securing electricity before building compute, on the view that power is the industry&#8217;s primary bottleneck.</p>
<p>The PORTS-Pike site sits on the former Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant in Appalachian Ohio. The plant was a Cold War-era uranium enrichment facility that has since been decommissioned. Redeveloping it as an AI campus places some of the country&#8217;s largest planned computing capacity in a region that SB Energy says has long shaped American industry, and it involves both federal and private land.</p>
<section class="jain-sources" aria-label="Sources">
<h2>Sources</h2>
<p>Source: <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMi1gFBVV95cUxNYXdyMXl0ZUs3UDVBSFo1a3BCcDg4UlZUazQxSEp1allrY1B3SEVxYnQ2RjFQVFY5T3Q1YUFYM19Jc1ZQNXVobGtZNVJBc1BPQXpFWFFsTlBvWEJqV3VRM1lCU0ZzSVlHcS14UGxUZldBaEVsdUJveHN0TXJOLURfWDBxRlJYaFdXMHREU3VSNlVrcFZncENub1czY2lGV1F6eGpGSWZiU2loYlJYVVRFZTdQSU80Q0lNZmdvX3FZQ0hTU1pjZF8weHhCRWEzeURkcDk3N1Z3?oc=5">NVIDIA Guarantees SB Energy&#8217;s PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Ohio to Exclusively Host NVIDIA AI Compute</a>. Nvidia Newsroom, August 17, 2026: Nvidia&#8217;s announcement of credit support, exclusivity and a $1.5 billion investment in SB Energy for OpenAI&#8217;s 8 IT-GW Ohio campus.</p>
</section>
</div>
<aside class="jain-rail">
<section class="jain-gaps" aria-label="What the release does not say">
<p class="jain-gaps-kicker">⚠ What They Aren’t Saying</p>
<h2>What the Release Doesn&#8217;t Say</h2>
<ul>
<li><strong>Size and terms of Nvidia&#8217;s credit support.</strong> Nvidia has not disclosed the dollar amount of the guarantee, which obligations it covers, how long it lasts, or what triggers a payout. Without those, the actual risk transferred to Nvidia cannot be assessed.</li>
<li><strong>The remaining 3.75 IT-GW.</strong> OpenAI is named as the customer for all 8 IT-GW, but Nvidia&#8217;s credit support covers only the first 4.25. The companies have not said when Nvidia must decide on its option, or who backs the balance if it declines.</li>
<li><strong>Lease economics and phasing.</strong> SB Energy and OpenAI have not disclosed rent, escalators, the capacity in each phase, or the schedule after the first phase in 2028.</li>
<li><strong>Generation mix and the ratepayer claim.</strong> SB Energy and SoftBank have not said what the 10 gigawatts of new generation will consist of, where it will be sited, or how the $4.2 billion AEP Ohio arrangement shields other customers from costs.</li>
<li><strong>Permits and federal land.</strong> The companies have not described the approvals still needed for the federal portion of the site or for new generation and transmission.</li>
<li><strong>Jobs.</strong> “Tens of thousands of Ohio jobs” is not broken down into construction and permanent roles, and no timeline is given.</li>
</ul>
</section>
<section class="jain-faq">
<h2>Frequently Asked Questions</h2>
<h3>What did Nvidia announce about PORTS-Pike?</h3>
<p>Nvidia said it will provide credit support for the land, power and shell buildout at SB Energy&#8217;s PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio, securing an initial 4.25 IT-GW. In exchange, it will be the exclusive AI compute provider on the site.</p>
<h3>What does credit support mean in this deal?</h3>
<p>It means Nvidia&#8217;s financial backing stands behind obligations tied to building the site&#8217;s land, power and shell. That can make the project easier to finance. The exact amount and terms of Nvidia&#8217;s support have not been disclosed.</p>
<h3>What is an IT-GW?</h3>
<p>An IT gigawatt measures power delivered to computing equipment, excluding cooling and other facility overhead. At PORTS-Pike, at least 10 gigawatts of new generation is expected to support 8 IT-GW of AI capacity.</p>
<h3>Who is the customer for the campus?</h3>
<p>OpenAI is the customer for the full 8 IT-GW. SB Energy will build, own and operate the data center under a 20-year lease to OpenAI.</p>
<h3>What does Nvidia get in return for its backing?</h3>
<p>Exclusivity. Nvidia will be the only AI compute infrastructure provider at PORTS-Pike, using its DSX AI factory platform of GPUs, CPUs and networking. It also holds an option on capacity beyond the initial 4.25 IT-GW.</p>
<h3>How much is Nvidia investing in SB Energy?</h3>
<p>Nvidia will invest $1.5 billion in SB Energy, joining existing investors SoftBank Group and OpenAI. The companies said the investment supports SB Energy&#8217;s growth and its commitments to the Ohio community.</p>
<h3>When will the campus come online?</h3>
<p>The planned capacity is expected to come online in phases beginning in 2028. The capacity in each phase and the schedule after the first phase have not been disclosed.</p>
<h3>Where exactly is the campus?</h3>
<p>The campus is in Pike County in southern Ohio, on and around the decommissioned Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant. It spans both private and federal land.</p>
<h3>Who is developing the power and grid infrastructure?</h3>
<p>SB Energy and SoftBank committed to build at least 10 gigawatts of new generation. They also committed to invest at least $4.2 billion in regional grid infrastructure through a partnership with AEP Ohio that they say is designed to protect ratepayers.</p>
<h3>What community commitments were made?</h3>
<p>An initial $80 million community benefits fund: SB Energy&#8217;s original $40 million plus an incremental $40 million from OpenAI. It targets affordable energy, jobs and workforce development, and community and economic development.</p>
<h3>Which government agencies are involved?</h3>
<p>The campus is being developed in collaboration with AEP Ohio, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Commerce, reflecting its location partly on federal land.</p>
<h3>What is Nvidia&#x27;s DSX AI factory platform?</h3>
<p>Nvidia describes DSX as its full-stack AI factory platform, covering GPUs, CPUs and networking. It is designed to deliver resiliency across facilities, hardware and software and to reduce infrastructure overhead.</p>
<h3>Why would a chipmaker finance data center real estate?</h3>
<p>Land, power and shells have become gating resources for deploying AI hardware. By backing the buildout, Nvidia secures a large, long-lived site where only its systems can be installed and upgraded over future generations.</p>
<h3>What are the risks of an exclusive single-vendor campus?</h3>
<p>It concentrates the customer&#8217;s future capacity at this site on one supplier&#8217;s roadmap, which reduces negotiating leverage. It also ties the campus&#8217;s economics to a small group of related counterparties whose fortunes depend on continued AI demand.</p>
<h3>Who advised on the transaction?</h3>
<p>Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan served as financial advisors to SB Energy. Morgan Stanley served as Nvidia&#8217;s financial advisor.</p>
<h3>What should data center developers take from this deal?</h3>
<p>A hardware supplier&#8217;s credit can serve as a financing input for large AI sites, likely with exclusivity attached. Developers weighing such backing will need to price in the loss of flexibility over which chips their tenants can deploy.</p>
</section>
</aside>
</div>
<p><script type="application/ld+json">{"@context": "https://schema.org", "@graph": [{"@type": "NewsArticle", "headline": "Nvidia's 4.25-GW Ohio Guarantee Puts Chipmaker Credit Behind AI Land and Power", "description": "Nvidia will provide credit support for SB Energy's PORTS-Pike AI campus in Ohio, with OpenAI leasing 8 IT-GW for 20 years. The chipmaker's balance sheet now backs the land, power and buildings, and in return Nvidia gets exclusive rights to supply all of the AI compute on the site.", "image": ["/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/nvidia-sb-energy-ports-pike-ohio-ai-campus-credit-support.webp"], "author": {"@type": "Organization", "name": "jain.com Editorial"}, "datePublished": "2026-09-26T14:43:30.388043+00:00"}, {"@type": "FAQPage", "mainEntity": [{"@type": "Question", "name": "What did Nvidia announce about PORTS-Pike?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Nvidia said it will provide credit support for the land, power and shell buildout at SB Energy's PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio, securing an initial 4.25 IT-GW. In exchange, it will be the exclusive AI compute provider on the site."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What does credit support mean in this deal?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It means Nvidia's financial backing stands behind obligations tied to building the site's land, power and shell. That can make the project easier to finance. The exact amount and terms of Nvidia's support have not been disclosed."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is an IT-GW?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "An IT gigawatt measures power delivered to computing equipment, excluding cooling and other facility overhead. At PORTS-Pike, at least 10 gigawatts of new generation is expected to support 8 IT-GW of AI capacity."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Who is the customer for the campus?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "OpenAI is the customer for the full 8 IT-GW. SB Energy will build, own and operate the data center under a 20-year lease to OpenAI."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What does Nvidia get in return for its backing?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Exclusivity. Nvidia will be the only AI compute infrastructure provider at PORTS-Pike, using its DSX AI factory platform of GPUs, CPUs and networking. It also holds an option on capacity beyond the initial 4.25 IT-GW."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How much is Nvidia investing in SB Energy?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Nvidia will invest $1.5 billion in SB Energy, joining existing investors SoftBank Group and OpenAI. The companies said the investment supports SB Energy's growth and its commitments to the Ohio community."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "When will the campus come online?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The planned capacity is expected to come online in phases beginning in 2028. The capacity in each phase and the schedule after the first phase have not been disclosed."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Where exactly is the campus?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The campus is in Pike County in southern Ohio, on and around the decommissioned Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant. It spans both private and federal land."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Who is developing the power and grid infrastructure?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "SB Energy and SoftBank committed to build at least 10 gigawatts of new generation. They also committed to invest at least $4.2 billion in regional grid infrastructure through a partnership with AEP Ohio that they say is designed to protect ratepayers."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What community commitments were made?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "An initial $80 million community benefits fund: SB Energy's original $40 million plus an incremental $40 million from OpenAI. It targets affordable energy, jobs and workforce development, and community and economic development."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Which government agencies are involved?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The campus is being developed in collaboration with AEP Ohio, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Commerce, reflecting its location partly on federal land."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is Nvidia's DSX AI factory platform?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Nvidia describes DSX as its full-stack AI factory platform, covering GPUs, CPUs and networking. It is designed to deliver resiliency across facilities, hardware and software and to reduce infrastructure overhead."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why would a chipmaker finance data center real estate?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Land, power and shells have become gating resources for deploying AI hardware. By backing the buildout, Nvidia secures a large, long-lived site where only its systems can be installed and upgraded over future generations."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What are the risks of an exclusive single-vendor campus?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It concentrates the customer's future capacity at this site on one supplier's roadmap, which reduces negotiating leverage. It also ties the campus's economics to a small group of related counterparties whose fortunes depend on continued AI demand."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Who advised on the transaction?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan served as financial advisors to SB Energy. Morgan Stanley served as Nvidia's financial advisor."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What should data center developers take from this deal?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "A hardware supplier's credit can serve as a financing input for large AI sites, likely with exclusivity attached. Developers weighing such backing will need to price in the loss of flexibility over which chips their tenants can deploy."}}]}]}</script></p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
