<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="https://www.jain.com/assets/img/6adafce5-1.1"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>NuScale Power &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<atom:link href="/tag/nuscale-power/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link></link>
	<description>Data centers, connectivity, and security — news and analysis</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 18 Sep 2026 11:30:55 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-US</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>
	hourly	</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>
	1	</sy:updateFrequency>
	

<image>
	<url>/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/jain-com-icon-512-150x150.png</url>
	<title>NuScale Power &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<link></link>
	<width>32</width>
	<height>32</height>
</image> 
	<item>
		<title>A 13% Policy Rally Stretches Oklo&#8217;s $1B Share Program for AI Power</title>
		<link>/oklo-nuscale-stocks-jump-house-data-center-power-vote-nuclear/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Deepak Jain]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 18 Sep 2026 11:30:55 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Power Infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AI infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[at-the-market offering]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[data center power]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[energy policy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[nuclear power]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[NuScale Power]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Oklo]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Small Modular Reactors]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">/oklo-nuscale-stocks-jump-house-data-center-power-vote-nuclear/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Oklo rose 13% and NuScale 10% after a House vote on data-center power that stops short of a nuclear mandate. For Oklo, which just set up a $1B at-the-market share program, the rally means each dollar raised costs shareholders fewer new shares.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="jain-post-grid">
<div class="jain-post-main">
<section class="jain-tldr" aria-label="Plain-English summary">
<p class="jain-tldr-kicker">TL;DR · 30-second read</p>
<h2>The Short Version</h2>
<p>Shares in two companies building small, factory-made nuclear reactors jumped on Thursday. Oklo rose about 13% and NuScale about 10%.</p>
<p>The trigger was a vote in the US House of Representatives on how to power the huge computer warehouses behind artificial intelligence. The bill does not require anyone to use nuclear power.</p>
<p>That gap matters. Oklo had just arranged to sell up to $1 billion of new stock to fund its reactors. A higher share price means it can raise that money while handing out fewer new shares.</p>
</section>
<p>Shares of small modular reactor developers Oklo and NuScale Power rose sharply on Thursday after the U.S. House voted on legislation addressing electricity supply for data centers. Yahoo Finance and 24/7 Wall St. reported Oklo up 13% and NuScale up 10%. TechStock² put the gains at 11% and 9% and reported that the measure stops short of ordering the use of nuclear power. Other nuclear names, including NANO Nuclear Energy and fuel supplier Centrus Energy, also rose.</p>
<p>The rally came one week after Oklo disclosed, in an 8-K filed September 11, an equity distribution agreement with ten banks. The agreement lets it sell up to $1 billion of Class A common stock &#8220;at the market,&#8221; meaning gradually and at prevailing share prices.</p>
<h2>Executive Summary</h2>
<p>The House vote gave nuclear equities a policy signal, not a purchase order. The bill as reported does not compel data centers or utilities to buy nuclear power. It does not fund a reactor. It does not change how quickly the Nuclear Regulatory Commission licenses one. Even so, investors marked up the whole small-reactor group in a single session. That shows how much of these companies&#8217; value rests on expectations about Washington&#8217;s direction rather than on operating assets. Neither Oklo nor NuScale yet runs a commercial reactor in the United States.</p>
<p>For Oklo, the timing turns a sentiment move into a financing variable. Its new at-the-market program sells shares at whatever the market is paying. A higher price lets the company raise the same dollars while issuing fewer shares, which means less dilution for existing holders. The company can also choose to raise more. For AI data-center developers hoping small reactors will eventually supply firm power, a well-funded developer matters. The capital to build is the first thing between a reactor design and a delivered megawatt.</p>
<h2>A Rally on a Signal, Not a Mandate</h2>
<p>The central fact of Thursday&#8217;s trade is the mismatch between the policy and the price move. The House measure concerns power for data centers, the warehouse-scale computing sites whose electricity demand has climbed with AI training and inference. The measure reportedly does not order that any of that power come from nuclear plants. Investors bid the sector up anyway. The best reading is that the market is pricing direction: Congress is treating data-center power as a legislative priority, and nuclear is the carbon-free, always-on source most often named alongside it.</p>
<p>That is a reasonable thing to be optimistic about, but it is not a revenue event. Small modular reactors (SMRs) are nuclear units far smaller than conventional plants, designed to be built in factories and installed in modules. They still have to clear licensing, secure fuel, finance construction and sign binding power contracts before they produce anything a data center can buy. A vote that addresses none of those steps directly moved the stocks by roughly a tenth. That tells readers more about how these valuations are built than about how soon reactors will run.</p>
<h2>Why the Jump Matters Most to Oklo&#8217;s Share Sales</h2>
<p>Oklo&#8217;s September 11 8-K sets out the mechanism. Under the equity distribution agreement, ten banks, including Goldman Sachs, BofA Securities, Citigroup, J.P. Morgan and Morgan Stanley, can sell Class A shares for Oklo in ordinary market trades, block trades or negotiated deals. Sales happen &#8220;at market prices prevailing at the time of sale,&#8221; up to $1 billion in gross proceeds. Oklo sets a daily maximum and a minimum acceptable price, and pays commissions of up to 1.5%. On the full $1 billion, that would be up to $15 million.</p>
<p>Because the price floats, the share price directly sets the cost of this capital to existing owners. Take any fixed dollar amount raised at a price 13% higher: it requires about 11.5% fewer new shares than it would have the day before (1 divided by 1.13). A policy-driven rally therefore does something concrete for Oklo that it does not do for a company without an open program. It cuts the dilution attached to funding reactor development, or lets Oklo raise more for the same dilution. The 8-K describes the shares as issued off a shelf registration declared effective in December 2025. That means Oklo can act on the higher price without a fresh registration process.</p>
<p>Two caveats keep this honest. Oklo has not said whether it has sold any shares under the program or at what prices. And a price gain built on a signal can reverse as quickly as it came. The benefit is real only for sales made while the higher price holds. Existing shareholders are the other affected party. Every share sold dilutes them, whatever the price.</p>
<h2>A Basket Move, Not Company News</h2>
<p>The breadth of the rally points to sector sentiment rather than company-specific developments. NuScale filed no material report with the SEC in the days around the vote. NANO Nuclear Energy&#8217;s most recent 8-K, filed September 17, reports only routine results from its September 15 annual meeting: six directors re-elected and Withum ratified as auditor. Nothing in that filing concerns the House bill, customers or reactors. When developers at different stages, and a fuel supplier, rise together on the same day, the market is repricing the theme, not the individual businesses.</p>
<p>For data-center developers and hyperscalers, the largest cloud operators, the practical lesson is to separate equity momentum from procurement reality. The gating items for nuclear-supplied AI capacity have not moved: licensed designs, fuel supply, construction financing and signed offtake agreements. Offtake agreements are long-term contracts to buy a plant&#8217;s output. A stronger share price can help with one of these, financing, and only for companies positioned to tap it.</p>
<h2>Background</h2>
<p>Oklo went public in 2024 through a merger with AltC Acquisition Corp., a blank-check company co-founded by Sam Altman. It is developing the Aurora, a compact fast reactor. Its first combined license application was denied by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission in 2022, and it has since been working back through licensing. NuScale Power&#8217;s design was the first small modular reactor design certified by the NRC. Its flagship Carbon Free Power Project with Utah municipal utilities was cancelled in 2023 after subscriptions fell short.</p>
<p>Both companies have positioned themselves as future suppliers of firm, carbon-free electricity to data centers, whose power needs have grown quickly with AI workloads. Both remain pre-revenue on commercial reactor sales. That leaves their share prices sensitive to policy news, to financing conditions and to any sign that large power buyers will commit.</p>
<section class="jain-sources" aria-label="Sources">
<h2>Sources</h2>
<p>Source: <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMijAFBVV95cUxQRTQxUFE3MVBCTVJmLTczX1VHTlBnajJDN3hfRVo2TEkxSW1XVDRSOC1DbEdXMEh4VjZsa09TbTRBVU1Cdl9mNFRUekEtZXpfU0VFckdjeWJlREFoWWhwaklldG5LRi04OUxOUjNIUzl3Y1RSTnhWal9zTDdjMzBONUwzYXlGckZlZFZPbg?oc=5">Why Did Nuclear Stocks OKLO, SMR, NNE, LEU, XE Jump On Thursday? (Yahoo Finance)</a>: coverage of the nuclear-stock rally following the House data-center power vote. Also: <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMinwFBVV95cUxPa2p4RzFSUXVqRUhVMHQxOVA4UVkzSEZSNGVFdHpPc3dXSzFPb3FiTFRwcXZDRVUxdUVaRWZxT3gxLXNNUlhyQkd2VGVjQXdSNVd3Y25id1N6SjQzLTV3RzFqaGNfZXN2Rk51VjdvSGFndGlzMDh0WVMxSXdfWnF5MjNNZklIUXdHRm9SdlExdUR5YXNWbF9YVDBqOGk1b1k?oc=5">Oklo Stock Rises 11%, NuScale Gains 9%; House Vote Stops Short of a Nuclear Order (TechStock²)</a>, <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMilwFBVV95cUxPWU1LWlRPOThUSTR0TDNTUXhkS0RuSHB4OUZ5VjRRY1UtZlRoWFhBZGZ3cW43N2lzSWlvZ2kxeU1XN1NfOG43MGh0Q1V4a09xUlN4N2xNODczbzhGMDFVTkZVdnp6bEVmLTlDdFRvdldnSUVmWWRHZDBBdHNuS3BtX1V4Sl9DV09jX0VnTzFRYXR0Qy1IZmJB?oc=5">Oklo Jumps 13%, NuScale Power Climbs 10% (Yahoo Finance)</a> and <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMizgFBVV95cUxQNUQ1V2lIaUYyQ19JdmZrYkJ5Y0wzUGZZd18tUHk2emRSUVRjZjh4TW5SOWRmX00tcWxjODJhTGVlRW5FZmNVaFE4Y19EbkdBeEd3bm9sdmtSZnZkVHRwaWpCeERNalFEOUY4aU1qNldrckpYNWlxb2g2SzFkMEk1U2FyZkpYWnRvRl9SOG9SM2JnMTNkMFphUnVDYU5lR0FyZmlhRW5ldmJYZjJGZEF5UGptNTkwU21SZXZOWGFRQk5XYkNMREwzb3dEb2RRUQ?oc=5">Oklo Jumps 13%, NuScale Power Climbs 10% (24/7 Wall St.)</a>.</p>
<p>Primary sources: <a href="https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1849056/000110465926106897/tm2625056d1_8k.htm">Oklo Inc. Form 8-K filed September 11, 2026: $1 billion at-the-market equity distribution agreement</a>; <a href="https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1923891/000149315226043128/form8-k.htm">NANO Nuclear Energy Inc. Form 8-K filed September 17, 2026: results of 2026 annual meeting</a>.</p>
</section>
</div>
<aside class="jain-rail">
<section class="jain-gaps" aria-label="What the release does not say">
<p class="jain-gaps-kicker">⚠ What They Aren’t Saying</p>
<h2>What the Release Doesn&#8217;t Say</h2>
<ul>
<li><strong>Oklo&#8217;s actual share sales:</strong> Oklo has not disclosed whether it has sold any stock under the $1 billion program, how much it has raised or at what average price. Without that, the rally&#8217;s financial benefit to the company cannot be measured.</li>
<li><strong>Contracted demand:</strong> None of the companies has said how the House measure would change its contracted or expected sales to data-center operators, or named a customer whose plans depend on the bill.</li>
<li><strong>Timelines and licensing:</strong> Oklo and NuScale have not tied the vote to any change in their regulatory or construction schedules. Those schedules, not legislative signals, set when a data center could draw nuclear power from them.</li>
</ul>
</section>
<section class="jain-faq">
<h2>Frequently Asked Questions</h2>
<h3>Why did Oklo and NuScale stock jump on Thursday?</h3>
<p>Both rose after the U.S. House voted on legislation addressing electricity supply for data centers. Reported gains were about 11% to 13% for Oklo and 9% to 10% for NuScale, as investors read the vote as supportive of nuclear power for AI facilities.</p>
<h3>Does the House bill require data centers to use nuclear power?</h3>
<p>No. Coverage of the vote reported that the measure stops short of a nuclear mandate. It addresses data-center power broadly but does not order that any of that power come from nuclear plants.</p>
<h3>What is a small modular reactor?</h3>
<p>A small modular reactor, or SMR, is a nuclear reactor much smaller than a conventional plant. It is designed to be built largely in a factory and installed in modules, so capacity can be added in smaller steps closer to where power is needed.</p>
<h3>What is Oklo&#x27;s $1 billion at-the-market program?</h3>
<p>In an 8-K filed September 11, 2026, Oklo disclosed an agreement with ten banks to sell up to $1 billion of Class A stock gradually, at prevailing market prices. Oklo controls timing, daily limits and a minimum price.</p>
<h3>How does a higher stock price help Oklo&#x27;s share program?</h3>
<p>Because shares sell at market prices, a higher price means fewer new shares are needed to raise the same amount. At a price 13% higher, a fixed sum requires about 11.5% fewer shares, which reduces dilution for existing holders.</p>
<h3>Has Oklo sold shares under the program yet?</h3>
<p>Oklo has not disclosed any sales under the program. The 8-K establishes the agreement and its terms. The amount sold and the prices achieved would appear in later disclosures.</p>
<h3>What does Oklo pay the banks running the program?</h3>
<p>The 8-K says Oklo will pay commissions of up to 1.5% of the gross sale price, plus certain expenses. If the full $1 billion were raised, commissions could reach up to $15 million.</p>
<h3>Which banks are selling Oklo&#x27;s shares?</h3>
<p>The agents are Goldman Sachs, BofA Securities, Citigroup Global Markets, J.P. Morgan Securities, Morgan Stanley, Barclays, Cantor Fitzgerald, Guggenheim Securities, Canaccord Genuity and B. Riley Securities.</p>
<h3>Did NANO Nuclear Energy announce anything related to the bill?</h3>
<p>No. NANO Nuclear&#8217;s 8-K filed September 17 reports results of its September 15 annual meeting, where shareholders re-elected six directors and ratified Withum as auditor. It contains no business news tied to the House vote.</p>
<h3>Why do AI data centers care about nuclear power?</h3>
<p>AI data centers draw large amounts of electricity around the clock. Nuclear plants produce steady, carbon-free power, which makes them attractive for operators that need firm supply and have climate commitments.</p>
<h3>Do Oklo or NuScale operate commercial reactors today?</h3>
<p>Neither company operates a commercial reactor in the United States yet. Both remain in the development, licensing and project-financing stages, which is why policy signals weigh heavily on their valuations.</p>
<h3>Is the rally likely to last?</h3>
<p>That is uncertain. Gains driven by a policy signal, rather than by new contracts or licenses, can reverse if the legislation stalls or changes. Durable value depends on binding customer agreements and progress on building reactors.</p>
<h3>What should data-center buyers watch instead of stock moves?</h3>
<p>Buyers should track signed power purchase agreements, Nuclear Regulatory Commission licensing milestones, fuel supply arrangements and construction financing. These determine when nuclear power could actually reach a data center.</p>
<h3>What does the rally mean for existing Oklo shareholders?</h3>
<p>Any shares Oklo sells under the program dilute existing holders. Selling at higher prices means less dilution per dollar raised, but the program still expands the share count as it is used.</p>
</section>
</aside>
</div>
<p><script type="application/ld+json">{"@context": "https://schema.org", "@graph": [{"@type": "NewsArticle", "headline": "A 13% Policy Rally Stretches Oklo's $1B Share Program for AI Power", "description": "Oklo rose 13% and NuScale 10% after a House vote on data-center power that stops short of a nuclear mandate. For Oklo, which just set up a $1B at-the-market share program, the rally means each dollar raised costs shareholders fewer new shares.", "image": ["/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/oklo-nuscale-nuclear-stocks-house-data-center-power-vote.webp"], "author": {"@type": "Organization", "name": "jain.com Editorial"}, "datePublished": "2026-09-18T11:30:53.621877+00:00"}, {"@type": "FAQPage", "mainEntity": [{"@type": "Question", "name": "Why did Oklo and NuScale stock jump on Thursday?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Both rose after the U.S. House voted on legislation addressing electricity supply for data centers. Reported gains were about 11% to 13% for Oklo and 9% to 10% for NuScale, as investors read the vote as supportive of nuclear power for AI facilities."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Does the House bill require data centers to use nuclear power?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "No. Coverage of the vote reported that the measure stops short of a nuclear mandate. It addresses data-center power broadly but does not order that any of that power come from nuclear plants."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is a small modular reactor?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "A small modular reactor, or SMR, is a nuclear reactor much smaller than a conventional plant. It is designed to be built largely in a factory and installed in modules, so capacity can be added in smaller steps closer to where power is needed."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is Oklo's $1 billion at-the-market program?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "In an 8-K filed September 11, 2026, Oklo disclosed an agreement with ten banks to sell up to $1 billion of Class A stock gradually, at prevailing market prices. Oklo controls timing, daily limits and a minimum price."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How does a higher stock price help Oklo's share program?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Because shares sell at market prices, a higher price means fewer new shares are needed to raise the same amount. At a price 13% higher, a fixed sum requires about 11.5% fewer shares, which reduces dilution for existing holders."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Has Oklo sold shares under the program yet?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Oklo has not disclosed any sales under the program. The 8-K establishes the agreement and its terms. The amount sold and the prices achieved would appear in later disclosures."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What does Oklo pay the banks running the program?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The 8-K says Oklo will pay commissions of up to 1.5% of the gross sale price, plus certain expenses. If the full $1 billion were raised, commissions could reach up to $15 million."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Which banks are selling Oklo's shares?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The agents are Goldman Sachs, BofA Securities, Citigroup Global Markets, J.P. Morgan Securities, Morgan Stanley, Barclays, Cantor Fitzgerald, Guggenheim Securities, Canaccord Genuity and B. Riley Securities."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Did NANO Nuclear Energy announce anything related to the bill?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "No. NANO Nuclear's 8-K filed September 17 reports results of its September 15 annual meeting, where shareholders re-elected six directors and ratified Withum as auditor. It contains no business news tied to the House vote."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why do AI data centers care about nuclear power?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "AI data centers draw large amounts of electricity around the clock. Nuclear plants produce steady, carbon-free power, which makes them attractive for operators that need firm supply and have climate commitments."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Do Oklo or NuScale operate commercial reactors today?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Neither company operates a commercial reactor in the United States yet. Both remain in the development, licensing and project-financing stages, which is why policy signals weigh heavily on their valuations."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Is the rally likely to last?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "That is uncertain. Gains driven by a policy signal, rather than by new contracts or licenses, can reverse if the legislation stalls or changes. Durable value depends on binding customer agreements and progress on building reactors."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What should data-center buyers watch instead of stock moves?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Buyers should track signed power purchase agreements, Nuclear Regulatory Commission licensing milestones, fuel supply arrangements and construction financing. These determine when nuclear power could actually reach a data center."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What does the rally mean for existing Oklo shareholders?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Any shares Oklo sells under the program dilute existing holders. Selling at higher prices means less dilution per dollar raised, but the program still expands the share count as it is used."}}]}]}</script></p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
