<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="https://www.jain.com/assets/img/6adafce5-1.1"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>utility economics &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<atom:link href="/tag/utility-economics/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link></link>
	<description>Data centers, connectivity, and security — news and analysis</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 28 Aug 2026 13:58:02 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-US</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>
	hourly	</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>
	1	</sy:updateFrequency>
	

<image>
	<url>/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/jain-com-icon-512-150x150.png</url>
	<title>utility economics &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<link></link>
	<width>32</width>
	<height>32</height>
</image> 
	<item>
		<title>PG&#038;E Credits Data Center Growth for 11% Electric Rate Cut</title>
		<link>/pge-data-center-growth-electric-rate-cut-11-percent/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Deepak Jain]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 28 Aug 2026 13:58:02 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Power Infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[California utilities]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[data centers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[electric rates]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[large-load growth]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PG&E]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[utility economics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[wildfire policy]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">/pge-data-center-growth-electric-rate-cut-11-percent/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[PG&#038;E has cut electric rates four times since 2024, an 11% reduction the utility credits partly to data center and other large-load growth spreading fixed costs across more kilowatt-hours. CEO Patti Poppe says wildfire policy, not customer growth, is now the drag on affordability.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="jain-post-grid">
<div class="jain-post-main">
<p>PG&amp;E Corporation cut electric rates for the fourth time in two years, an 11% reduction since 2024, CEO Patti Poppe told analysts on the company&#8217;s fourth-quarter 2025 earnings call on February 17, 2026. She attributed much of the affordability gain to accelerated large-load growth from data centers, electric vehicles and California manufacturing, while flagging state wildfire policy as a continuing burden on ratepayers.</p>
<p>The utility&#8217;s large-load pipeline stood at 7.3 GW at year-end 2025, down from 9.6 GW in September, with 3.6 GW now in final engineering. PG&amp;E maintains that each new gigawatt of load lowers customer bills by roughly 1%.</p>
<h2>Executive Summary</h2>
<p>The announcement runs counter to the prevailing headline that AI-era data centers are pushing household power bills higher. PG&amp;E&#8217;s argument is straightforward utility economics: fixed costs — poles, wires, substations, generation capacity — are spread across the kilowatt-hours a utility sells, so when a large industrial customer arrives and buys a lot of electricity, everyone else&#8217;s per-unit share of those fixed costs falls. That logic holds only if the new load actually pays its full cost of service and if the utility does not spend disproportionately to serve it.</p>
<p>PG&amp;E is telling investors both halves of that story. Rates are down 11% cumulatively since 2024. The $73 billion five-year capital plan is unchanged despite management seeing an additional $5 billion of potential growth capex, and no new equity is planned. The company will issue up to $4.6 billion in debt in 2026 as it pursues investment-grade credit ratings from the two agencies that have not yet followed Fitch&#8217;s September 2025 upgrade.</p>
<p>The uncomfortable subtext for California policymakers: Poppe pointed at the state&#8217;s wildfire liability regime, not at data-center customers, as the affordability problem. A California Public Utilities Commission report on January 30 called the current Wildfire Fund structure &ldquo;regressive,&rdquo; and the California Earthquake Authority is due to publish reform recommendations on April 1 that could seed legislation later this session.</p>
<h2>Why New Large Loads Can Actually Lower Everyone&#8217;s Bill</h2>
<p>A regulated utility recovers its costs — the grid, the generation, the debt service, the operations staff — through the rates it charges its customers. Divide a big fixed cost by a bigger number of billed kilowatt-hours and the per-kilowatt-hour rate falls. That is the mechanism behind PG&amp;E&#8217;s claim that every incremental gigawatt of new load trims about 1% off customer bills, and it is why utility CEOs across the country are, quietly or loudly, courting hyperscale data centers rather than resisting them. Whether the arithmetic actually reaches households depends on tariff design: the new customer must pay for the grid upgrades it triggers, and any purpose-built generation must not saddle other ratepayers with stranded-asset risk if the load leaves. PG&amp;E did not detail its large-load tariff structure on the call, so the 1%-per-gigawatt figure is a corporate estimate rather than an independently verified per-customer outcome.</p>
<p>The pipeline itself is worth reading carefully. Total prospective large load fell from 9.6 GW in September to 7.3 GW by year-end, which sounds bearish, but the 3.6 GW now in final engineering is a firmer number than a top-of-funnel inquiry. Pipelines shrink as speculative projects wash out and serious ones advance; the mix has arguably improved.</p>
<h2>The Wildfire Question Is the Real Rate Story</h2>
<p>PG&amp;E&#8217;s own framing is that data centers help and wildfire policy hurts. The California Earthquake Authority administers the state Wildfire Fund, which reimburses investor-owned utilities for wildfire-related legal claims; its reform report is due April 1, and Poppe is openly lobbying for legislative changes before the session ends. The January 30 CPUC report she cites called the fund&#8217;s current structure &ldquo;regressive,&rdquo; language that will resonate with consumer advocates even when they disagree with utilities on most everything else.</p>
<p>There is a scrutiny question to apply on both sides here. PG&amp;E has a direct financial interest in reforms that shift wildfire liability off shareholders, and its 43% year-over-year decline in ignitions tied to company equipment is a genuine operational result but also a talking point in that lobbying campaign. Consumer advocates, in turn, will want to see whether &ldquo;regressive&rdquo; means the fund&#8217;s cost recovery falls hardest on residential customers, or something narrower. The reform proposal itself is not yet public, so specifics have to wait.</p>
<h2>What the Capital Plan Is Really Signaling</h2>
<p>CFO Carolyn Burke&#8217;s decision to hold the $73 billion five-year plan flat, even while acknowledging up to $5 billion of additional growth opportunities, is the most investor-relevant disclosure on the call. The stated reason — the company&#8217;s current valuation would not support raising the plan — is candid, and it is why management is prioritizing load growth that actually lowers rates and pursuing the credit upgrades the equity market seems to be waiting for. No new equity issuance in the five-year window means growth capex has to be financed by debt and internally generated cash, which puts a ceiling on how aggressively PG&amp;E can chase large-load interconnection queues even in a market where hyperscalers are willing to fund a lot of the infrastructure themselves.</p>
<p>Poppe&#8217;s warning that &ldquo;all aspects of the company&#8217;s current plans would be subject to re-evaluation&rdquo; absent wildfire reform is a live threat, not boilerplate. If the two remaining agencies do not upgrade, the debt cost rises and something in the plan gives.</p>
<h2>Implications Beyond California</h2>
<p>The PG&amp;E data point matters nationally because the &ldquo;data centers are raising my power bill&rdquo; storyline has become a defining political frame in Virginia, Ohio, Georgia and Texas. PG&amp;E&#8217;s numbers do not settle that argument — different utilities have different fixed-cost structures, tariff designs and generation mixes — but they do complicate any blanket claim that new hyperscale load is inherently regressive for households. Where large-load customers pay their full cost of service and the utility discipline is real, the mechanics can genuinely cut retail rates. Where they do not, they will not. The policy question in every state is which of those two versions is being negotiated at the interconnection queue.</p>
<h2>Background</h2>
<p>PG&amp;E Corporation is the parent of Pacific Gas and Electric Company, the investor-owned utility that serves roughly 16 million people across northern and central California. The company emerged from Chapter 11 in 2020 following wildfire liabilities, and the state subsequently created the California Wildfire Fund to socialize a portion of future wildfire claims across participating utilities and their ratepayers. CEO Patti Poppe joined in 2021.</p>
<p>Large-load growth — hyperscale data centers, transportation electrification and industrial reshoring — has become the defining rate-design question for U.S. utilities in the AI era. Whether that load lowers or raises household bills depends on tariff structure, cost-allocation methodology and how much new generation and transmission the utility must build to serve it.</p>
<p>Source: <a href="https://www.utilitydive.com/news/data-center-growth-has-helped-pge-cut-rates-11-since-2024-ceo-says/812230/">Data center growth has helped PG&amp;E cut rates 11% since 2024, CEO says</a> — Utility Dive coverage of PG&amp;E Corporation&#8217;s Q4 2025 earnings call, published February 17, 2026.</p>
</div>
<aside class="jain-rail">
<section class="jain-gaps" aria-label="What the release does not say">
<p class="jain-gaps-kicker">⚠ What They Aren’t Saying</p>
<h2>What the Release Doesn&#8217;t Say</h2>
<ul>
<li><strong>The 1%-per-gigawatt claim is not decomposed.</strong> PG&amp;E does not disclose on this call which portion of the 11% rate cut is attributable to load growth versus other factors (fuel costs, base-rate case outcomes, deferred cost amortization), nor whether the figure is a residential-average or system-average rate.</li>
<li><strong>Large-load tariff design is not disclosed.</strong> Whether hyperscale customers pay full embedded cost of service, marginal cost, or a negotiated contract rate is the linchpin of the affordability argument and was not addressed on the call.</li>
<li><strong>The pipeline contraction (9.6 GW to 7.3 GW) is not explained.</strong> Are projects cancelling, moving to other utilities, or being consolidated? The 3.6 GW in final engineering is a positive signal but leaves 3.7 GW of pipeline ambiguity.</li>
<li><strong>The two holdout credit rating agencies are not named,</strong> and neither is the specific policy language they are waiting to see.</li>
<li><strong>The Wildfire Fund reform proposal itself is not public yet,</strong> so it is impossible to evaluate what PG&amp;E is actually asking legislators to change.</li>
<li><strong>Generation-capacity plans are not detailed.</strong> Serving 3.6 GW of new load requires either new dispatchable generation, contracts with existing generators, or demand-response arrangements — the call did not walk through the supply side.</li>
</ul>
</section>
<section class="jain-faq">
<h2>Frequently Asked Questions</h2>
<h3>How much has PG&amp;E cut electric rates since 2024?</h3>
<p>PG&#038;E says it has cut electric rates four times since 2024, an 11% cumulative reduction, according to CEO Patti Poppe on the company&#8217;s fourth-quarter 2025 earnings call on February 17, 2026.</p>
<h3>Why does data center growth lower rates for other customers?</h3>
<p>A utility&#8217;s fixed costs — grid, generation, operations — are recovered across every kilowatt-hour sold. When a large industrial customer buys a lot of electricity and pays its share, the per-kilowatt-hour cost for everyone else falls, provided the new load pays its full cost of service.</p>
<h3>How much new large load is PG&amp;E expecting?</h3>
<p>PG&#038;E reported a large-load pipeline of 7.3 GW at year-end 2025, down from 9.6 GW in September, with 3.6 GW now in final engineering — a firmer, later-stage subset of the total pipeline.</p>
<h3>What is PG&amp;E&#x27;s per-gigawatt bill impact estimate?</h3>
<p>PG&#038;E maintains that each new gigawatt of large load on its system reduces customer electric bills by approximately 1%. The company did not decompose the cumulative 11% cut into load-growth versus other factors on the call.</p>
<h3>What is driving new load beyond data centers?</h3>
<p>Poppe cited rapid electric vehicle adoption and growth from California manufacturing, noting that California produces more manufactured goods than any other U.S. state, including robotics and chip-manufacturing equipment.</p>
<h3>What is PG&amp;E&#x27;s five-year capital plan?</h3>
<p>PG&#038;E&#8217;s five-year capital plan is $73 billion, and management is not updating it despite seeing an additional $5 billion of potential growth capex, citing valuation as the constraint. No new equity issuance is planned during the five-year window.</p>
<h3>Is PG&amp;E issuing more debt in 2026?</h3>
<p>Yes. CFO Carolyn Burke said the company plans to issue up to $4.6 billion in debt in 2026 as it pursues investment-grade credit ratings from the two agencies that have not yet followed Fitch&#8217;s September 2025 upgrade.</p>
<h3>Why is wildfire policy affecting PG&amp;E&#x27;s affordability?</h3>
<p>California&#8217;s Wildfire Fund, administered by the California Earthquake Authority, reimburses utilities for wildfire-related legal claims but recovers costs in a way a January 30 CPUC report called regressive. Poppe said this structure burdens ratepayers and lobbied for reform.</p>
<h3>When are wildfire reforms expected?</h3>
<p>The California Earthquake Authority is scheduled to publish reform recommendations on April 1, which Poppe expects to trigger a legislative process. She said she hopes to see new legislation before the end of the session but did not endorse specific reforms.</p>
<h3>Has PG&amp;E improved wildfire safety?</h3>
<p>PG&#038;E reported a 43% year-over-year decline in wildfire ignitions tied to company equipment in 2025, a metric management uses to argue that operational performance supports the case for legislative reform.</p>
<h3>What credit rating actions have occurred?</h3>
<p>Fitch Ratings upgraded PG&#038;E in September 2025. The other major credit rating agencies have not upgraded, and management indicated they are waiting for California wildfire policy reforms before doing so.</p>
<h3>How does PG&amp;E&#x27;s rate-cut story compare to other states?</h3>
<p>The claim contrasts with rising bills in parts of Virginia, Ohio, Georgia and Texas where data-center growth has been blamed for cost pressure. Outcomes depend on tariff design, generation mix and interconnection rules, so the PG&#038;E result is not automatically transferable.</p>
<h3>What should investors watch next?</h3>
<p>The April 1 Wildfire Fund reform recommendations, subsequent California legislative action, credit rating updates from the two holdout agencies, and conversion of the 3.6 GW in final engineering into signed interconnection agreements.</p>
<h3>What should California ratepayers watch next?</h3>
<p>Whether the promised per-kilowatt-hour rate reductions actually reach residential and small-business bills, how large-load tariffs are structured, and whether wildfire cost recovery becomes less regressive under the coming reform proposal.</p>
<h3>What did PG&amp;E not disclose on this call?</h3>
<p>The company did not break down what share of the 11% rate cut came from load growth versus other factors, did not detail its large-load tariff structure, did not explain the 2.3 GW pipeline contraction, and did not name the two holdout credit rating agencies.</p>
</section>
</aside>
</div>
<p><script type="application/ld+json">{"@context": "https://schema.org", "@graph": [{"@type": "NewsArticle", "headline": "PG&E Credits Data Center Growth for 11% Electric Rate Cut", "description": "PG&E has cut electric rates four times since 2024, an 11% reduction the utility credits partly to data center and other large-load growth spreading fixed costs across more kilowatt-hours. CEO Patti Poppe says wildfire policy, not customer growth, is now the drag on affordability.", "image": ["/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/pge-data-center-growth-electric-rate-cut.png"], "author": {"@type": "Organization", "name": "jain.com Editorial"}, "datePublished": "2026-08-28T13:57:55.564283+00:00"}, {"@type": "FAQPage", "mainEntity": [{"@type": "Question", "name": "How much has PG&E cut electric rates since 2024?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "PG&E says it has cut electric rates four times since 2024, an 11% cumulative reduction, according to CEO Patti Poppe on the company's fourth-quarter 2025 earnings call on February 17, 2026."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why does data center growth lower rates for other customers?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "A utility's fixed costs \u2014 grid, generation, operations \u2014 are recovered across every kilowatt-hour sold. When a large industrial customer buys a lot of electricity and pays its share, the per-kilowatt-hour cost for everyone else falls, provided the new load pays its full cost of service."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How much new large load is PG&E expecting?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "PG&E reported a large-load pipeline of 7.3 GW at year-end 2025, down from 9.6 GW in September, with 3.6 GW now in final engineering \u2014 a firmer, later-stage subset of the total pipeline."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is PG&E's per-gigawatt bill impact estimate?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "PG&E maintains that each new gigawatt of large load on its system reduces customer electric bills by approximately 1%. The company did not decompose the cumulative 11% cut into load-growth versus other factors on the call."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is driving new load beyond data centers?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Poppe cited rapid electric vehicle adoption and growth from California manufacturing, noting that California produces more manufactured goods than any other U.S. state, including robotics and chip-manufacturing equipment."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What is PG&E's five-year capital plan?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "PG&E's five-year capital plan is $73 billion, and management is not updating it despite seeing an additional $5 billion of potential growth capex, citing valuation as the constraint. No new equity issuance is planned during the five-year window."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Is PG&E issuing more debt in 2026?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Yes. CFO Carolyn Burke said the company plans to issue up to $4.6 billion in debt in 2026 as it pursues investment-grade credit ratings from the two agencies that have not yet followed Fitch's September 2025 upgrade."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why is wildfire policy affecting PG&E's affordability?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "California's Wildfire Fund, administered by the California Earthquake Authority, reimburses utilities for wildfire-related legal claims but recovers costs in a way a January 30 CPUC report called regressive. Poppe said this structure burdens ratepayers and lobbied for reform."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "When are wildfire reforms expected?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The California Earthquake Authority is scheduled to publish reform recommendations on April 1, which Poppe expects to trigger a legislative process. She said she hopes to see new legislation before the end of the session but did not endorse specific reforms."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Has PG&E improved wildfire safety?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "PG&E reported a 43% year-over-year decline in wildfire ignitions tied to company equipment in 2025, a metric management uses to argue that operational performance supports the case for legislative reform."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What credit rating actions have occurred?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Fitch Ratings upgraded PG&E in September 2025. The other major credit rating agencies have not upgraded, and management indicated they are waiting for California wildfire policy reforms before doing so."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How does PG&E's rate-cut story compare to other states?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The claim contrasts with rising bills in parts of Virginia, Ohio, Georgia and Texas where data-center growth has been blamed for cost pressure. Outcomes depend on tariff design, generation mix and interconnection rules, so the PG&E result is not automatically transferable."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What should investors watch next?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The April 1 Wildfire Fund reform recommendations, subsequent California legislative action, credit rating updates from the two holdout agencies, and conversion of the 3.6 GW in final engineering into signed interconnection agreements."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What should California ratepayers watch next?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Whether the promised per-kilowatt-hour rate reductions actually reach residential and small-business bills, how large-load tariffs are structured, and whether wildfire cost recovery becomes less regressive under the coming reform proposal."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What did PG&E not disclose on this call?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The company did not break down what share of the 11% rate cut came from load growth versus other factors, did not detail its large-load tariff structure, did not explain the 2.3 GW pipeline contraction, and did not name the two holdout credit rating agencies."}}]}]}</script></p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
