<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="https://www.jain.com/assets/img/6adafce5-1.1"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Amazon Web Services &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<atom:link href="/tag/amazon-web-services/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link></link>
	<description>Data centers, connectivity, and security — news and analysis</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 17 Sep 2026 20:08:56 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-US</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>
	hourly	</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>
	1	</sy:updateFrequency>
	

<image>
	<url>/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/jain-com-icon-512-150x150.png</url>
	<title>Amazon Web Services &#8211; Jain.com</title>
	<link></link>
	<width>32</width>
	<height>32</height>
</image> 
	<item>
		<title>Pennsylvania&#8217;s $188M Data Center Tax Break Shows Why AI Subsidies Follow Servers</title>
		<link>/pennsylvania-data-center-sales-tax-exemption-amazon-188-million/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Deepak Jain]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 16 Sep 2026 16:00:00 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Data Center]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AI infrastructure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Amazon Web Services]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[data centers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[energy policy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Pennsylvania]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Talen Energy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Tax Policy]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">/pennsylvania-data-center-sales-tax-exemption-amazon-188-million/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Pennsylvania's data center sales-tax exemption is projected to cost $188.4 million in fiscal 2026-27 and nearly $2 billion by 2031 as Amazon expands. Because servers are roughly 60% of what a gigawatt-scale campus costs, the break scales with AI silicon prices, not with jobs, land or local tax base.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="jain-post-grid">
<div class="jain-post-main">
<section class="jain-tldr" aria-label="Plain-English summary">
<p class="jain-tldr-kicker">TL;DR · 30-second read</p>
<h2>The Short Version</h2>
<p>Amazon is building a string of data centers across Pennsylvania &mdash; large buildings packed with computers that run websites, cloud services and artificial intelligence.</p>
<p>Pennsylvania does not charge its 6 percent sales tax on the computer equipment inside them. State budget writers expect that break to cost close to $2 billion in uncollected taxes by 2031.</p>
<p>Lawmakers in both parties voted this summer to end it. Neither version reached the governor&#8217;s desk. The argument is really about who helps pay for the buildings behind your chatbot.</p>
</section>
<p>Capital &amp; Main reported on September 16 that Amazon has so far claimed Pennsylvania&#8217;s data center sales-and-use tax exemption at two locations, according to the state Department of Revenue, while expanding a portfolio that now includes a permit application for 36 data centers at the 4.5-gigawatt Homer City campus in southwestern Pennsylvania, a 1,300-acre site in Hazle Township, a pending site in Kline Township, and a prospective end-user role at a rezoning-denied site in Montour County. Amazon pledged $20 billion of data center investment in the state in 2025, beginning with projects in Salem Township and Falls Township.</p>
<p>The exemption relieves buyers of the state&#8217;s 6% sales and use tax on equipment bought, stored or used at qualifying data centers. Pennsylvania projects it will forgo $188.4 million in fiscal 2026-27 and close to $2 billion by 2031. In late June, the Democratic-controlled House and Republican-controlled Senate each passed a repeal; neither reached Governor Josh Shapiro before he signed the budget on July 12. Shapiro&#8217;s August 18 executive order left the exemption intact but conditioned it on a consent order binding operators to new siting, disclosure and energy standards.</p>
<h2>Executive Summary</h2>
<p>The substance here is not that a state subsidizes data centers &mdash; most do. It is the shape of this particular subsidy. Pennsylvania&#8217;s exemption attaches to <em>equipment</em>, and equipment is the part of a modern AI facility whose cost is rising fastest. The nonprofit research group Epoch AI estimates servers account for almost 60% of the cost of owning a one-gigawatt data center, with the remainder split across the building, network gear, energy, land, labor and water. A tax break written against that base grows with every generation of accelerators, whether or not the campus gets bigger or hires anyone else.</p>
<p>That is why a program appropriated at $5 million in 2016 is now projected to reach $517.2 million in fiscal 2030-31 under Shapiro&#8217;s own 2026 budget proposal &mdash; more than a hundredfold increase. It also explains why the repeal fight crossed party lines in June and why it is unresolved: the exemption has become the single largest state-level lever on data center economics in Pennsylvania, and the governor chose to attach conditions to it rather than remove it.</p>
<p>For anyone underwriting capacity in the PJM footprint, the operational takeaway is that Pennsylvania&#8217;s cost question has migrated. The debate that dominated 2024 and 2025 was about electricity price and interconnection. The debate now decided in Harrisburg is about the state revenue base &mdash; and it introduces a policy variable into equipment capex that most site-selection models still treat as fixed.</p>
<h2>A Subsidy Indexed to Silicon, Not to Square Footage</h2>
<p>Most location incentives are written against things that change slowly: assessed property value, payroll, acreage. Pennsylvania&#8217;s data center break is written against the 6% sales and use tax on equipment &mdash; servers, storage, and the gear that supports them. That distinction is the whole story. Epoch AI&#8217;s estimate that servers make up almost 60% of the cost of owning a one-gigawatt facility means the exempt share of a project&#8217;s spend is the share dominated by AI accelerators, whose unit prices have climbed faster than any other line in the stack.</p>
<p>The arithmetic follows mechanically. Two campuses of identical size, power draw and headcount will generate very different amounts of forgone state revenue if one is filled with general-purpose cloud servers and the other with AI training racks. The state&#8217;s own projections trace that curve: $188.4 million forgone in fiscal 2026-27, growing to a projected $517.2 million in fiscal 2030-31, against a $5 million appropriation when the program passed in 2016 &mdash; before generative AI or hyperscale campuses were part of the conversation. Nothing in the statute had to change for the cost to multiply. The compute did.</p>
<p>Who is affected: the state treasury, which is absorbing the growth while legislators field demands to fund public transit and close a structural deficit; developers whose pro formas capitalize a 6% equipment discount that two chambers have already voted to remove; and county tax bases that receive the land and the substation but not the largest slice of the spend. It also means the conventional local-benefit argument &mdash; that a campus pays for itself through construction and property tax &mdash; is being made about the smallest part of the capital stack.</p>
<h2>A Program the State Cannot Meter</h2>
<p>There is a real weakness on both sides of this argument, and it is the same weakness. When the incentive was converted from a refund to an exemption in 2021, Pennsylvania lost the ability to track exactly how much revenue it gives up when an operator claims it. The Department of Revenue confirmed Amazon has received the incentive at two locations; it did not put a dollar figure on them.</p>
<p>That should temper the numbers everyone is citing. The $188.4 million and the roughly $2 billion cumulative figure are budget projections, not measured losses &mdash; useful, but not audited outcomes. By the same token, claims that the exemption is a modest and self-financing inducement cannot be verified either, because the state has no per-claim ledger to check them against. Amazon&#8217;s $20 billion commitment is not a tax base: only the portion spent on qualifying equipment is exempt, and the company has not broken that out. Good policy on either side would start with disclosure, and the current design forecloses it.</p>
<h2>Conditioning the Subsidy Instead of Ending It</h2>
<p>Shapiro&#8217;s August 18 executive order did something more interesting than the repeal bills would have. It kept the exemption but turned it into an enforcement hook: operators claiming it must sign a consent order committing to the standards in the order, which bars state officials from signing nondisclosure agreements with operators, requires demonstrated local community support, and pushes developers toward supplying their own energy so the grid is not strained. &ldquo;I want to be clear: These are not voluntary standards &mdash; these are legally binding requirements in order to operate here in the Commonwealth,&rdquo; Shapiro said at the signing.</p>
<p>Critics argue the conditions are beside the point. &ldquo;Shapiro is Pennsylvania&#8217;s governor, not Amazon&#8217;s, not Meta&#8217;s, not Microsoft&#8217;s,&rdquo; said Megan McDonough of Food &amp; Water Watch when the underlying principles were introduced in May, arguing the state should withhold support rather than regulate access to it. The counterargument is that a consent order reaches conduct a repeal never would &mdash; siting, disclosure and self-supplied power are not things the tax code addresses. The tension is genuine: repeal is cleaner and cheaper; conditioning is narrower but touches the grid and permitting questions that actually determine whether these projects get built.</p>
<p>The process history is the part that will keep drawing scrutiny. Heatmap reported in April, based on correspondence obtained by a Pennsylvania resident, that Amazon was shown a &ldquo;feedback draft&rdquo; of the plan on March 18, months before public release; that the administration had offered &ldquo;exclusive early access&rdquo; to fast-tracked permitting subject to a nondisclosure agreement; and that the Department of Community and Economic Development secretary had described the plan to an Amazon representative as &ldquo;intended to be voluntary.&rdquo; The executive order now prohibits the NDA practice. Whether pre-consultation with a major investor is ordinary policy development or preferential access is a fair question, and it is fair in both directions &mdash; states routinely test regulatory drafts with the regulated, and doing so under an NDA is what changed.</p>
<h2>Permitting Risk May Bite Before Tax Risk Does</h2>
<p>Look at the pipeline and a different constraint appears. State officials have identified more than 100 projects at varying degrees of certainty. Yet the Hazle Township site was denied locally last year and is under appeal; the Montour County rezoning was denied in February; Kline Township is still pending. A developer told the governor&#8217;s chief transformation and opportunity officer by email that Amazon had been &ldquo;appealed in EVERY project at EVERY turn,&rdquo; per Heatmap&#8217;s reporting. For a hyperscaler, a 6% equipment discount is worth real money, but it does not compound the way a two-year zoning delay does on a site whose power interconnection and construction slots are already booked.</p>
<p>Capital availability is clearly not the binding constraint. In an 8-K filed September 14, Amazon disclosed it had closed a sterling bond sale of &pound;4.242 billion in aggregate public offering price across four tranches maturing 2029 through 2045, netting roughly &pound;4.235 billion. The filing does not state a use of proceeds, and nothing in it ties the raise to Pennsylvania. What it does show is a company funding a global buildout in size at fixed coupons ranging from 5.200% to 6.650% &mdash; a cost of capital against which state-level equipment tax treatment is a meaningful but second-order input.</p>
<p>The practical consequence for anyone building, powering or financing this infrastructure: Pennsylvania&#8217;s attractiveness is now a function of two variables moving in opposite directions. The exemption is under bipartisan legislative pressure, with both chambers back in session and 11 scheduled session days left this year. Meanwhile the executive order raises the local-consent and self-supplied-power bar, which favors sites with generation already next door &mdash; the pattern visible at Salem Township, where Amazon Web Services construction sits adjacent to Talen Energy&#8217;s Susquehanna nuclear station. Projects that solved power first are the ones least exposed to whichever way Harrisburg moves.</p>
<h2>Background</h2>
<p>Pennsylvania created its data center sales and use tax incentive in 2016 with a $5 million appropriation, aiming to attract facilities housing servers and storage equipment. It was restructured from a refund into an exemption in 2021. Over the following two years the state became a focal point of the AI buildout, with officials identifying more than 100 projects at varying degrees of certainty &mdash; drawn by PJM interconnection, legacy generation sites including retired coal plants and operating nuclear units, and abundant natural gas.</p>
<p>Amazon announced its $20 billion Pennsylvania commitment in 2025, anchored by AI-serving campuses in Salem Township and Falls Township. Opposition has grown in parallel and across party lines, driven by electricity demand, land use and local control; hundreds of residents rallied at the state Capitol on June 23. The result is a policy fight in which repeal bills, an executive order, campaign finance scrutiny and local zoning appeals are all running at once, in an election year in which Governor Shapiro is seeking reelection.</p>
<section class="jain-sources" aria-label="Sources">
<h2>Sources</h2>
<p>Source: <a href="https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMiowFBVV95cUxNa0lGU3pVUnMtLWp2YXl6cDVoUHdzZk52X2ZSaFZzangwUG91Rkg4XzFJRzk1b1hlZlVRQkM5TndDOUM2OHJ4SWJfMkhOVDhES0Z5TGd1TjBzOE8yVUs1cjFjQS16bmliYm1qQmNDVlk3RUlFMXk1NnF1VV9HRDVEMUgxeWd4NFJ4anh3Sk5Kc1FqMkE1aXRXT1pYenhoWmNjc3A0?oc=5">A Lucrative Tax Break Is Fueling Pennsylvania&#8217;s Amazon Data Center Boom</a> &mdash; Audrey Carleton, Capital &amp; Main, published by Truthout, September 16, 2026, on Amazon&#8217;s use of Pennsylvania&#8217;s data center sales and use tax exemption and the stalled legislative effort to repeal it.</p>
<p>Primary sources: <a href="https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000110465926107526/tm2624614d5_8k.htm">Amazon.com, Inc. Form 8-K filed September 14, 2026</a> (closing of &pound;4.242 billion of notes due 2029, 2032, 2038 and 2045); <a href="https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000101872426000036/amzn-20260908.htm">Amazon.com, Inc. Form 8-K filed September 9, 2026</a> (election of Kevin R. Mandia to the board, audit and security committees).</p>
</section>
</div>
<aside class="jain-rail">
<section class="jain-gaps" aria-label="What the release does not say">
<p class="jain-gaps-kicker">⚠ What They Aren’t Saying</p>
<h2>What the Release Doesn&#8217;t Say</h2>
<p><strong>What Amazon has not disclosed:</strong> which two Pennsylvania sites have claimed the exemption and what the claimed amounts were; how much of the $20 billion commitment is qualifying equipment versus buildings, land and site work that the exemption does not cover; whether the investment pledge is contingent on the exemption surviving repeal; contracted capacity, phasing and target energization dates for the 36 buildings proposed at Homer City, or for Hazle Township, Kline Township and Montour County; and what power arrangements &mdash; behind-the-meter, contracted or grid-supplied &mdash; back each site under the executive order&#8217;s self-supply expectation. The September 14 8-K discloses the &pound;4.242 billion note sale but states no use of proceeds.</p>
<p><strong>What the Commonwealth has not disclosed:</strong> any per-claim accounting of forgone revenue, which the 2021 shift from refund to exemption removed; the methodology behind the $188.4 million and roughly $2 billion projections; how many operators have signed the consent order required under the August 18 executive order, and what &ldquo;local community support&rdquo; must consist of to satisfy it; and what enforcement or clawback follows a breach.</p>
<p><strong>What the legislature has not settled:</strong> whether a repeal would apply prospectively or to facilities already approved, what transition treatment in-flight projects would receive, and whether the Senate&#8217;s promised fall action restores its June language or negotiates a cap instead of an outright repeal.</p>
</section>
<section class="jain-faq">
<h2>Frequently Asked Questions</h2>
<h3>What is Pennsylvania&#x27;s data center tax exemption?</h3>
<p>It relieves qualifying data center operators of the state&#8217;s 6% sales and use tax on equipment they buy, store or use in Pennsylvania. Servers and storage hardware are the largest category covered.</p>
<h3>How much is the exemption projected to cost the state?</h3>
<p>Pennsylvania projects $188.4 million in forgone revenue in fiscal 2026-27 and close to $2 billion cumulatively by 2031. The governor&#8217;s 2026 budget proposal put the annual figure at $517.2 million by fiscal 2030-31.</p>
<h3>Why does the cost keep growing?</h3>
<p>The break applies to equipment, and equipment cost per facility has risen sharply with AI hardware. Epoch AI estimates servers are almost 60% of the cost of owning a one-gigawatt data center, so the exempt base grows with compute intensity.</p>
<h3>When was the program created?</h3>
<p>In 2016, with a $5 million appropriation, to attract investment in facilities containing servers and data storage equipment. It predates generative AI and hyperscale campuses entering mainstream use.</p>
<h3>What changed in 2021?</h3>
<p>The incentive was converted from a refund to an exemption. Under the exemption model the state cannot track exactly how much revenue it forgoes when an operator claims it, which is why only projections exist.</p>
<h3>How many Amazon sites have claimed it?</h3>
<p>The Pennsylvania Department of Revenue said Amazon has received the incentive at two data center locations so far. The department did not disclose the dollar value of those claims.</p>
<h3>How large is Amazon&#x27;s Pennsylvania commitment?</h3>
<p>Amazon pledged $20 billion of data center investment across the state, starting in 2025 with projects in Salem Township in the northeast and Falls Township north of Philadelphia. Not all of that spend is exempt equipment.</p>
<h3>What other Pennsylvania sites is Amazon pursuing?</h3>
<p>It has applied for a local permit for 36 data centers at the 4.5-gigawatt gas-powered Homer City campus, is involved in a 1,300-acre Hazle Township site under appeal, awaits permits in Kline Township, and was identified as a prospective end user in Montour County.</p>
<h3>Did the legislature vote to repeal the exemption?</h3>
<p>Both chambers passed repeal language in late June, including a Senate omnibus tax code bill on June 25 that the House amended. Neither version reached Governor Shapiro before he signed the budget on July 12.</p>
<h3>What did Shapiro&#x27;s August 18 executive order do?</h3>
<p>It barred state officials from signing nondisclosure agreements with operators, required demonstrated local community support, and pushed operators toward supplying their own energy. Operators claiming the tax exemption must sign a consent order binding them to those standards.</p>
<h3>Does the executive order repeal the tax break?</h3>
<p>No. The exemption remains in place. The order conditions access to it on compliance, which critics argue is insufficient and supporters argue reaches siting, disclosure and power questions the tax code does not address.</p>
<h3>Is repeal likely this fall?</h3>
<p>It is unresolved. The House returned September 8 and the Senate on September 28, with 11 scheduled session days each remaining this year. Senate Majority Leader Joe Pittman has promised further action; NRDC&#8217;s Jocelyn Steinberg called the outlook for repeal unpromising.</p>
<h3>How much electricity do data centers use overall?</h3>
<p>About 4.4% of total US electricity consumption in 2023, a figure that could roughly triple by 2030. In Pennsylvania that growth raises demand for the state&#8217;s natural gas reserves alongside existing nuclear generation.</p>
<h3>What should site selectors take from this?</h3>
<p>Treat state equipment tax treatment as a policy variable, not a fixed input. Two chambers have already voted to remove it, and any repeal&#8217;s treatment of in-flight projects is undefined, so exposure depends on when equipment is purchased.</p>
<h3>Why does power adjacency matter under the new rules?</h3>
<p>The executive order incentivizes operators to provide their own energy rather than strain the grid. Sites with generation already next door, such as the Salem Township campus adjacent to Talen Energy&#8217;s Susquehanna nuclear station, are best positioned to meet that bar.</p>
<h3>Is Amazon&#x27;s capital spending constrained here?</h3>
<p>Not by financing. In an 8-K filed September 14, Amazon disclosed closing a sterling note offering with a £4.242 billion aggregate public offering price across 2029, 2032, 2038 and 2045 maturities. The filing does not state a use of proceeds.</p>
</section>
</aside>
</div>
<p><script type="application/ld+json">{"@context": "https://schema.org", "@graph": [{"@type": "NewsArticle", "headline": "Pennsylvania's $188M Data Center Tax Break Shows Why AI Subsidies Follow Servers", "description": "Pennsylvania's data center sales-tax exemption is projected to cost $188.4 million in fiscal 2026-27 and nearly $2 billion by 2031 as Amazon expands. Because servers are roughly 60% of what a gigawatt-scale campus costs, the break scales with AI silicon prices, not with jobs, land or local tax base.", "image": ["/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/pennsylvania-amazon-data-center-tax-exemption.webp"], "author": {"@type": "Organization", "name": "jain.com Editorial"}, "datePublished": "2026-09-17T19:37:41.080530+00:00"}, {"@type": "FAQPage", "mainEntity": [{"@type": "Question", "name": "What is Pennsylvania's data center tax exemption?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It relieves qualifying data center operators of the state's 6% sales and use tax on equipment they buy, store or use in Pennsylvania. Servers and storage hardware are the largest category covered."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How much is the exemption projected to cost the state?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Pennsylvania projects $188.4 million in forgone revenue in fiscal 2026-27 and close to $2 billion cumulatively by 2031. The governor's 2026 budget proposal put the annual figure at $517.2 million by fiscal 2030-31."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why does the cost keep growing?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The break applies to equipment, and equipment cost per facility has risen sharply with AI hardware. Epoch AI estimates servers are almost 60% of the cost of owning a one-gigawatt data center, so the exempt base grows with compute intensity."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "When was the program created?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "In 2016, with a $5 million appropriation, to attract investment in facilities containing servers and data storage equipment. It predates generative AI and hyperscale campuses entering mainstream use."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What changed in 2021?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The incentive was converted from a refund to an exemption. Under the exemption model the state cannot track exactly how much revenue it forgoes when an operator claims it, which is why only projections exist."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How many Amazon sites have claimed it?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The Pennsylvania Department of Revenue said Amazon has received the incentive at two data center locations so far. The department did not disclose the dollar value of those claims."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How large is Amazon's Pennsylvania commitment?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Amazon pledged $20 billion of data center investment across the state, starting in 2025 with projects in Salem Township in the northeast and Falls Township north of Philadelphia. Not all of that spend is exempt equipment."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What other Pennsylvania sites is Amazon pursuing?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It has applied for a local permit for 36 data centers at the 4.5-gigawatt gas-powered Homer City campus, is involved in a 1,300-acre Hazle Township site under appeal, awaits permits in Kline Township, and was identified as a prospective end user in Montour County."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Did the legislature vote to repeal the exemption?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Both chambers passed repeal language in late June, including a Senate omnibus tax code bill on June 25 that the House amended. Neither version reached Governor Shapiro before he signed the budget on July 12."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What did Shapiro's August 18 executive order do?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It barred state officials from signing nondisclosure agreements with operators, required demonstrated local community support, and pushed operators toward supplying their own energy. Operators claiming the tax exemption must sign a consent order binding them to those standards."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Does the executive order repeal the tax break?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "No. The exemption remains in place. The order conditions access to it on compliance, which critics argue is insufficient and supporters argue reaches siting, disclosure and power questions the tax code does not address."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Is repeal likely this fall?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "It is unresolved. The House returned September 8 and the Senate on September 28, with 11 scheduled session days each remaining this year. Senate Majority Leader Joe Pittman has promised further action; NRDC's Jocelyn Steinberg called the outlook for repeal unpromising."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "How much electricity do data centers use overall?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "About 4.4% of total US electricity consumption in 2023, a figure that could roughly triple by 2030. In Pennsylvania that growth raises demand for the state's natural gas reserves alongside existing nuclear generation."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "What should site selectors take from this?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Treat state equipment tax treatment as a policy variable, not a fixed input. Two chambers have already voted to remove it, and any repeal's treatment of in-flight projects is undefined, so exposure depends on when equipment is purchased."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Why does power adjacency matter under the new rules?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "The executive order incentivizes operators to provide their own energy rather than strain the grid. Sites with generation already next door, such as the Salem Township campus adjacent to Talen Energy's Susquehanna nuclear station, are best positioned to meet that bar."}}, {"@type": "Question", "name": "Is Amazon's capital spending constrained here?", "acceptedAnswer": {"@type": "Answer", "text": "Not by financing. In an 8-K filed September 14, Amazon disclosed closing a sterling note offering with a \u00a34.242 billion aggregate public offering price across 2029, 2032, 2038 and 2045 maturities. The filing does not state a use of proceeds."}}]}]}</script></p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
			</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
